Skip to content

Jacintha – Fire & Rain (2018) [Official Digital Download DSF DSD128/5.64MHz + FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Jacintha – Fire & Rain (2018)
DSD128 (.dsf) 1 bit/5,6 MHz | Time – 47:49 minutes | 3,77 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 47:49 minutes | 1,04 GB
Genre: Jazz | Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Digital booklet | © Groove Note

“Fire and Rain” is Jacintha’s first new album since 2007. It features a fabulous selection of hits from the James Taylor catalog including You’ve Got A Friend, Sweet Baby James, Walking Man, Fire & Rain, Shower The People and several others. Jacintha’s first popular music vocal album represents a striking change of pace from this audiophile favorite.

You may know her for her alluring jazz covers and prominent contributions to local theatre company TheatreWorks over the last three decades. No stranger to Singapore’s art scene, all-round performer Jacintha Abisheganaden is back better than ever with Fire & Rain, a tribute album to the legendary James Taylor, available now on CD and vinyl.

The vivacious singer breaks out of her jazz shell with this pop album, boasting a brighter and more youthful sound that makes a refreshing listen for those familiar with her past work. She’s once again worked with Los Angeles-based record label Groove Note on the album, which sees support from a number of musicians that played for James Taylor himself including session guitarist Dean Parks and drummer Russ Kunkel. We caught up with Abisheganaden on what it was like returning to the studio after a ten-year hiatus, her illustrious career with Theatreworks and how her experience in theatre has influenced her approach to music.

01 – Fire & Rain
02 – Something In The Way She Moves
03 – Walking Man
04 – Sweet Baby James
05 – Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight
06 – You’ve Got A Friend
07 – Long Ago And Faraway
08 – The Water Is Wide
09 – Shower The People
10 – Fire & Rain (Alternate Mix, Bonus Cut)
11 – On The Road Jam

Jacintha – vocals
Jim Cox – keyboards
Charlie Bisharat – violin
Tim Pierce – guitar
Dean Parks – guitar
Leland Sklar – bass
Russ Kunkel – drums

The entire album is recorded 100% pure analog at The Henson Studios in Hollywood, formerly know as A&M Studios (and the original location of the Charlie Chaplin film studios). In 1999, A&M Records was sold to Universal Music. Subsequently the studio location, including all the recording studio facilities and equipment, was purchased by The Jim Henson Company. Henson Recording Studios was established in 2000 and continues the legacy of technical expertise and excellent service founded by A&M.

The album was tracked to 2 inch Multitrack Analog tape running at 30 ips and mixed down to 1/4 inch tape also running at 30 ips. All tracking and mixing was done at Sunset Sound by recording engineer and co-producer Michael C. Ross. The album was mastered and transferred from Analog to DSD by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering using the 1/4 inch 30 ips master tape.



%d bloggers like this: