Skip to content

Isata Kanneh-Mason – Summertime (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Isata Kanneh-Mason – Summertime (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 01:02:40 minutes | 1,03 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Decca Music Group Ltd.

British pianist Isata Kanneh-Mason explores the musical landscape of 20th century America on her new album Summertime, released 9 July 2021. The recording follows her award-winning debut album Romance, a portrait of Clara Schumann, that topped the UK Classical Chart when it was released in 2019.

Isata Kanneh-Mason said, “I am delighted to be presenting my second solo album Summertime, which features a rich array of pieces from many of my favourite American classical composers. The Barber ‘Piano Sonata’ forms the anchor around which the rest of the album was developed; I fell in love with the piece the first time I heard it, and it’s a real pleasure to have recorded it for Decca. I wanted this album to illustrate the diversity of music in America at that time, and so it was important to me to include the more familiar Gershwin songs, as well as the Samuel Coleridge-Taylor spirituals to which I feel a personal connection.”

Summertime’s diverse programme is centred around Samuel Barber’s ‘Piano Sonata in E-flat minor’ which was performed by Vladimir Horowitz, one of Isata Kanneh-Mason’s great musical influences, at its premiere in 1949.

1. Isata Kanneh-Mason – Summertime (after G. Gershwin)
2. Isata Kanneh-Mason – 1. I Got Rhythm (after G. Gershwin)
3. Isata Kanneh-Mason – Barber: Nocturne, Op. 33
4. Isata Kanneh-Mason – I. Allegro energico
5. Isata Kanneh-Mason – II. Allegro vivace e leggero
6. Isata Kanneh-Mason – III. Adagio mesto
7. Isata Kanneh-Mason – IV. Fuga. Allegro con spirito
8. Isata Kanneh-Mason – Gershwin: The Man I Love (Arr. Grainger for Piano)
9. Isata Kanneh-Mason – 1. Allegro ben ritmato e deciso
10. Isata Kanneh-Mason – 2. Andante con moto e poco rubato
11. Isata Kanneh-Mason – 3. Allegro ben ritmato e deciso
12. Isata Kanneh-Mason – Beach: By the Still Waters, Op. 114
13. Isata Kanneh-Mason – Copland: The Cat and the Mouse
14. Isata Kanneh-Mason – Coleridge-Taylor: Impromptu No. 2 in B Minor
15. Isata Kanneh-Mason – Coleridge-Taylor: Deep River
16. Isata Kanneh-Mason – Coleridge-Taylor: The Bamboula
17. Isata Kanneh-Mason – Coleridge-Taylor: Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: