Skip to content

Isata Kanneh-Mason – Romance – The Piano Music of Clara Schumann (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Isata Kanneh-Mason – Romance – The Piano Music of Clara Schumann (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:16:11 minutes | 1,21 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Decca

The Kanneh-Mason family has a website covering all seven siblings, plus a piano trio, who are active musically. Cellist Sheku Kanneh-Mason has gotten the headlines with his appearance at the Prince Harry-Meghan Markle wedding, but now comes older sister Isata Kanneh-Mason, elegant indeed in an off-the-shoulder African dress. She deserves credit for choosing an off-the-beaten-path program for her debut: a recital of Clara Schumann’s piano music. These pieces are played more often than they used to be, but most of them, especially the concluding Piano Sonata in G minor that was not published until 1991, still qualify as novel. Kanneh-Mason takes the works chronologically, which has the virtue of showing Schumann’s compositional development but the disadvantage of leading with the weakest suit, the Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 7, which the composer wrote in her teens. It’s a precocious and at times clever work, but it is no match for Robert Schumann’s Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54, and the performance with Holly Mathieson leading the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra is straightforward but no more. Things improve as Kanneh-Mason traverses two sets of Romances, a Scherzo, and two arrangements of music by Robert Schumann. The best is saved for last with the Piano Sonata in G minor. Clara Schumann modestly titled this work a Sonatine and gave it to her husband as a Christmas present. The latter should not disqualify it from consideration in the least, and the Sonatine title was given when the work had only two movements; Schumann returned to the work twice and ended up with a substantial four-movement work that is more sonata than sonatina. Sample its muscular Scherzo, which also shows Kanneh-Mason developing some lively power. She’s definitely a pianist to watch, and this is a worthwhile addition to the Clara Schumann discography.

1. Piano Concerto in A Minor, Op. 7: 1. Allegro maestoso 06:11
2. Piano Concerto in A Minor, Op. 7: 2. Romance: Andante non troppo con grazia 04:55
3. Piano Concerto in A Minor, Op. 7: 3. Allegro non troppo 10:11
4. 3 Romances, Op. 11: 1. Andante 03:03
5. 3 Romances, Op. 11: 2. Andante – Allegro passionato 06:17
6. 3 Romances, Op. 11: 3. Moderato 04:24
7. Scherzo No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 14 04:52
8. 3 Romances, Op. 22: 1. Andante molto 03:08
9. 3 Romances, Op. 22: 2. Allegretto 02:46
10. 3 Romances, Op. 22: 3. Leidenschaftlich schnell 04:15
11. Myrthen, Op.25: 1. Widmung (Arr. Clara Schumann) 02:14
12. Liederkreis, Op. 39: 5. Mondnacht (Arr. Clara Schumann) 03:51
13. Piano Sonata in G Minor: 1. Allegro 08:59
14. Piano Sonata in G Minor: 2. Adagio 03:07
15. Piano Sonata in G Minor: 3. Scherzo 02:53
16. Piano Sonata in G Minor: 4. Rondo 05:15

Isata Kanneh-Mason, piano


%d bloggers like this: