Skip to content

Ironing Music – Ironing Music (1985/2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Ironing Music – Ironing Music (1985/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 50:27 minutes | 608 MB | Genre: Electronic
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Bandcamp | Front Cover | © Medical Records

Medical Records in collaboration with our friends at Crispy Nuggets blog are happy to reissue a very obscure Australian gem from the 1980s. Ironing Music were a three piece band from Brisbane. They originally formed in 1984 as a result of their collective love for New Order, Human League and eventually Jean Michel Jarre and Cabaret Voltaire. Comprised of bass and electic guitar, Yamaha DX-7, melodica and an 808, they recorded a 12” single as their sole outpt in 1985 in a limited run of 250 copies (obviously excruciatingly rare now!). It was recorded in their bedroom studio with at Teac 4 track. The video clip for the “hit” Shopping Bag Women was played on several national and local television music shows. They also recorded demos in hopes of landing a LP deal which unfortunately didn’t attract any takers at the time. They actually only played 3 gigs and were forced to disband after one of their members fell ill in 1986. The LP presented here included the original 4 track single as well as hand picked demos which nicely congeal to form a well rounded LP documenting the band’s brief existence. They can best be described as lo-fi synth pop with an emphasis on excellent pop songs and interesting synth/instrument arrangements. The first track Shopping Bag Women is infectiously catchy and just screams to be worn out in the club. Fans of early to mid 80s synth pop and new romantic will fall in love. The tracks have been lovingly remastered by Martin Bowes at the Cage, London. Features original reproduction of the front cover painting. Also availabled on 180gram colored vinyl.

01 – Shopping Bag Women
02 – Surviving
03 – Guilty
04 – Not Ashamed
05 – Satisfied
06 – New Friends
07 – Imagination
08 – Dance, Music, Rhythm, Art
09 – Teenage Fantasies
10 – Questions
11 – Keep On The Move (Digital Bonus Track)
12 – Worldwide News (Digital Bonus Track)
13 – Day In, Day Out (Digital Bonus Track)
14 – Life In Fast Forward (Digital Bonus Track)


%d bloggers like this: