Skip to content

Iron Maiden – Brave New World (2000) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44.1kHz]

Iron Maiden – Brave New World (2000)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44.1 kHz  | Time – 1:07:02 minutes | 812 MB | Genre: Rock, Heavy Metal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Columbia/Portrait Records
Recorded: Summer 1999 – April 2000, Guillaume Tell Studios, Paris

The return of Iron Maiden’s “classic” Dickinson/Harris/Murray/Smith/McBrain lineup (plus third guitarist Janick Gers) in 1999 led to an incredibly successful world tour that saw the New Wave of British Heavy Metal legends commanding stages with the same unmitigated power and authority as they had during their mid-’80s heyday. But the question remained as to whether the reconstituted group would be able to carry this momentum into a studio setting and recapture the songwriting chops of its glory years. This question made Brave New World one of the most highly anticipated metal releases of 2000, and thankfully, the eventual answer to that question was a resounding “YES!” In fact, the album pretty much picked up right where the “classic” lineup had left off on 1988’s Seventh Son of a Seventh Son: with a faithful rediscovery of Iron Maiden’s best-loved sonic aesthetic and compositional quirks, updated only insofar as was necessary to measure up to new-millennium recording standards. In every other respect (and much like Seventh Son of a Seventh Son), Brave New World’s meticulously orchestrated three-guitar attack still allowed for a greater sense of space than early Maiden albums (as well as the use of subtle keyboard textures in a supporting role), while boasting a beefier, in-your-face mix à la Piece of Mind or Powerslave. The remarkable pipes of singer Bruce Dickinson actually seemed to have benefited from a less grueling touring schedule over the previous decade, and his renewed songwriting partnership with bassist Steve Harris (and other assorted bandmembers) yielded several new Maiden live standards such as punchy first single, “The Wicker Man,” and the positively anthemic title track. Also worthy of special mention were Harris’ emotional solo copyright, “Blood Brothers,” Adrian Smith’s distinctive solo licks throughout “The Fallen Angel,” and six-string stalwart Dave Murray’s Arabian-flavored contributions to “The Nomad.” These highlights notwithstanding, a more lucid appraisal revealed that Brave New World was no Number of the Beast, once the initial euphoria died down. But as comeback albums go, its excellence was undeniable, and announced not only Iron Maiden’s triumphant return, but an important turning point in heavy metal’s long, arduous climb back to respectability after years of critical abuse. –Eduardo Rivadavia

1 The Wicker Man 4:38
2 Ghost Of The Navigator 6:50
3 Brave New World 6:19
4 Blood Brothers 7:14
5 The Mercenary 4:42
6 Dream Of Mirrors 9:21
7 The Fallen Angel 4:01
8 The Nomad 9:06
9 Out Of The Silent Planet 6:26
10 The Thin Line Between Love And Hate 8:27

Bruce Dickinson – lead vocals
Dave Murray – guitar
Adrian Smith – guitar
Janick Gers – guitar
Steve Harris – bass, keyboards, co-producer
Nicko McBrain – drums


%d bloggers like this: