Skip to content

Iron And Wine – Archive Series Volume No. 1 (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Iron & Wine – Archive Series Volume No. 1 (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 61:34 minutes | 1,05 GB | Genre: Folk
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source:7Digital |  @ Black Cricket Recording Co.

Iron & Wine is excited to ring in the new year with the release of Archive Series Volume No. 1. Pulled from tapes found in the back corners of closets and dusty shoe boxes, this is the first in a series of releases – songs long neglected, but never forgotten. With the Archive Series, Sam Beam (Iron & Wine) will be gathering otherwise unreleased home recordings, covers, and live sets from his entire career and releasing them on his own label, Black Cricket Recording Co.

As Iron & Wine, songwriter Samuel Beam became an icon of rustic indie folk, his soft-spoken songs full of still, wistful country imagery and lovelorn emotions always tuneful enough to sit well beside the various mild-mannered indie rock bands that became his contemporaries as he spanned over a decade of recording and touring. The roots of Iron & Wine began when Beam was attending film school in the late ’90s, quietly recording acoustic demos of his beautifully mumbly songs on a borrowed four-track. These demos circulated and eventually the best of the tracks were assembled as Iron & Wine’s 2002 Sub Pop Records debut, The Creek Drank the Cradle. The project’s overnight success would lead to an accelerated development for Beam, his muse quickly shifting to more professionally recorded albums and changes in style over the years toward electric folk-rock and even forays into traditional African and Mexican arrangements as backdrops for his songs. There remained a special magic to those early recordings, however, the ones that sounded almost secretive or absolutely convinced they’d never be heard by anyone aside from the person creating them. Archive Series, Vol. 1 reaches back to the lo-fi recordings from the late ’90s and early aughts that resulted in that gorgeously hushed debut, sharing 16 previously unreleased tracks from the same era. While sometimes a little light on relatable stories or characters, Beam’s songs always succeed in perfectly capturing a vibe, and the outtakes and sketches of Archive Series, Vol. 1 fall in line with the vaguely pastoral feel of the earliest albums. “Everyone’s Summer of ’95” is a standout, Beam’s multi-tracked vocal harmonies and gently fingerpicked acoustic guitar conjuring up sentiments of faceless nostalgia and thoughts of lost friendships. Elements of nature, pained love, and longing touch almost every song from a distance, from the loping banjo flourishes of “Slow Black River” to the campfire folk progression of “Quarters in a Pocket.” Some of the references to antiquated themes of country life may come off a little precious to the uninitiated, but anyone who was spoken to by the low-lit intimacy of The Creek Drank the Cradle should seek out Archive Series, Vol. 1 as a perfect companion piece to that album and as deeper look into what must have been an incredibly inspired and productive time for the young songwriter.

01 – Slow Black River
02 – The Wind Is Low
03 – Eden
04 – Two Hungry Blackbirds
05 – Freckled Girl
06 – Judgement
07 – Sing Song Bird
08 – Beyond The Fence
09 – Quarters In A Pocket
10 – Loretta
11 – Everyone’s Summer of 95
12 – Minor Piano Keys
13 – Your Sly Smile
14 – Halfway To Richmond
15 – Wade Across The Water
16 – Postcard

Please note: 4 track cassette recordings mastered to 96khz/24bit
Tracks 7, 10, 11, 12, 15 & 16 contain a 15khz cut off.



%d bloggers like this: