Skip to content

Irish Baroque Orchestra & Monica Huggett – Concerti Bizarri (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Irish Baroque Orchestra & Monica Huggett – Concerti Bizarri (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:13:28 minutes | 1,47 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source:  | Digital Booklet | © Linn

Innovative instrumentation, unusual repertoire and an ensemble with a profound knowledge of historical performance practice makes this Irish Baroque Orchestra Linn debut unmissable.

This programme of 18th century concertos is an attractive listening tour through the German courts, revealing unknown jewels.

The soloists, including Lisa Beznosiuk (OAE), Andreas Helm (Concentus Musicus Wien), Monica Huggett (Sonnerie) and Peter Whelan (Ensemble Marsyas) relish the opportunity to show off their skills.

Alongside the double cello concerto by Vivaldi and Telemann’s concerto for two violins and bassoon sit the lesser known, but equally brilliant, concertos by Graupner, Heinichen and Fasch.

One of the most beautiful combinations is the Graupner Triple Concerto for oboe d’amore, viola d’amore and flute d’amore, which produces an exquisite blend of other-worldly colours.

Wonderfully kaleidoscopic colours also pervade the concertos by Heinichen and Fasch, the latter proving just why Telemann and Bach held him in such high esteem.


Johann Friedrich Fasch: Concerto for Flute and Oboe in B Minor, FaWV L:h1
1. I. Allegro
2. II. Largo
3. III. Allegro

Georg Philipp Telemann: Concerto for 2 Violins and Bassoon in D Major, TWV 53:D4
4. I. Andante
5. II. (Allegro)
6. III. Adagio
7. IV. Allegro assai

Johann David Heinichen: Concerto for Oboe in G Minor, S. 237
8. I. Allegro
9. II. Largo. Pizzicato
10. III. Vivace

Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto for 2 Cellos in G Minor, RV 531
11. I. Allegro
12. II. Largo
13. III. Allegro

Johann Friedrich Fasch: Concerto for 2 Oboes da caccia, 2 Violas, 2 Bassoons and Continuo in G Major, FaWV L:G11
14. I. Un poco allegro
15. II. (Andante)
16. III. Allegro
17. IV. Menuets I & II

Christoph Graupner: Concerto for Bassoon in C Major, GWV 301
18. I. Vivace
19. II. Largo e giusto
20. III. Allegro

Christoph Graupner: Concerto for Flute d’amore, Oboe d’amore and Viola d’amore in G Major, GWV 333
21. I. (Largo)
22. II. Allegro
23. III. (Adagio)
24. IV. Allegro


%d bloggers like this: