Skip to content

India Shawn – BEFORE WE GO (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

India Shawn – BEFORE WE GO (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 00:26:31 minutes | 300 MB | Genre: R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Epic

For her official major label debut, California soul staple India Shawn couldn’t have chosen better timing. Coming off of having her song “MOVIN’ ON” featured on episode 2 of this final season of Insecure and boasting the majority production by executive producer D’Mile – the same man behind Silk Sonic’s newly released album An Evening With Silk Sonic – what a time this is for India Shawn! The singer-songwriter chose to give listeners a mix of the familiar and the brand new with some optimism and a little cynicism and to bring some friends along for the ride on her Epic Records EP, BEFORE WE GO.

India Shawn’s last 5 singles find a home on BEFORE WE GO, but they all get new life when heard in sequence from the minute the very first song, “CALI LOVE,” makes its creative point about, “Searching for water where it never rains,” and begs the question, “Can you find a true love in LA?” Giving you the first hints of cynicism matched by the melancholy chords, from this opener alone you get an idea of the potency of Shawn’s songwriting and why her name has traveled on the R&B scene alongside some of your favorites.

Her popular summer single “DON’T PLAY WITH MY HEART” follows and takes things up several notches into more playfully cynical territory. D’Mile’s muted bass-led, bouncy funk groove has gotten disco comparisons since dropping this August, but it feels fresh, young and like it was made just in time to get played in LA’s DiscOasis skating rink pop-up before its final week. This underscores an element present throughout the EP: The Soul. The secret weapon tying together the previously released songs that have lived in the streaming-sphere for some time now and her new additions is the soulful, organic, soft instrumentation and mixing of slower tunes with more upbeat ones, creating a definite flow.

01. India Shawn – CALI LOVE
02. India Shawn – DON’T PLAY WITH MY HEART
03. India Shawn – TOO SWEET
04. India Shawn – NOT TOO DEEP
05. India Shawn – SUPERFINE
06. India Shawn – MOVIN’ ON
07. India Shawn – TO CHANGE MY MIND


%d bloggers like this: