Skip to content

Igor Stravinsky – Rite of Spring, Firebird Suite, Scherzo, Tango – Budapest Festival Orchestra, Ivan Fischer (2012) [Official Digital Download DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz + FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Igor Stravinsky – Rite of Spring, Firebird Suite, Scherzo, Tango – Budapest Festival Orchestra, Ivan Fischer (2012)
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz | Time – 01:03:12 minutes | 2,5 + 2.63 GB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: nativeDSDmusic |  © Channel Classics Records B.V.
Recorded: Palace of Arts, Budapest, December 2010

The recipe seems simple: take a simple melody of six notes and repeat it in the same order, accentuating a different note each time. For example:
1 2 3 4 2 5
1 2 3 4 2 5
1 2 3 4 2 5
Here we have the beginning of the Sacre du Printemps (with a short transition between lines 2 and 3)! Next step: add a rhythmic pattern and repeat it many times. Prepare a few of these and combine them thoroughly until you get a polyrhythmic and polytonal mix! Finished. With his simple recipe, Stravinsky changed the world. Many plants grew from this seed: beat, rock, rap, minimal music… A pagan, sacrifice ritual with shocking music and shocking choreography: three exceptional talents – Roerich, Nijinsky and Stravinsky – brought about an artistic revolution with a masterstroke. 100 years later it still sounds fresh, pagan, scary, new and beautiful. –Iván Fischer

(…) this performance achieves a tightrope balance that sets it apart from other recordings and make the symphony’s vast canvas lucid, cohesive and still exciting throughout its many abrupt shifts. Fischer culls seamless transitions as the work vacillates among emotional extremes, as well as a sense of raw abandon, without sacrificing too much tone quality. He allows unabashed sentiment without becoming saccharine. After a suspenseful opening, the first movement theme (which the composer also used in “Songs of a Wayfarer”) is warmly and ingratiatingly played. Smoothness, grandeur and playfulness contrast elegiac, slightly hoarse downward slides that lead into anguished and then manic sections. The folkish scherzo has just the right mix of brightness and the finale musters plenty of fearsome power. (…) –New

Mahler conducted the first performance of his debut symphony in Budapest. It was a notorious flop, but, in modern times, this astounding youthful essay by a composer at the heart of the Austro-Hungarian empire has been reclaimed by Hungarian musicians. Fischer’s elite band have already displayed superb Mahlerian credentials. This lovely account of the First, with it’s allusions to Songs of a Wayfarer, Mahler’s early vocal masterpiece, and homage, in the “stormy” finale, to Beethoven’s Ninth, is especially remarkable in Fischer’s delicate, chamber-like intimacy in repose and his lilting, rustic way with the Landler-like dance rhythms. –Sunday Times

This is the first recorded performance of the Rite of Spring that makes me believe that the work could have caused that riot at its premiere in Paris in 1913. All of Ivan Fischer’s recordings with Channel Classics have been excellent; this is the first big symphony orchestra outside of the Netherlands that the label has been recording, and the hi-res surround is first rate, as with all of their efforts. The wild rhythms and primitive percussion really grab the listener. (…) –Audiophile Audition

Igor Stravinsky(1882-1971)
Rite of Spring (1913)
First Part Adoration of the Earth
1 Introduction 3.28
2 The Augurs of Spring: Dances of the Young Girls 3.17
3 Ritual of Abduction 1.23
4 Spring Rounds 4.04
5 Ritual of the Rival Tribes 1.55
6 Procession of the Sage 0.44
7 The Sage 0.27
8 Dance of Earth 1.09
Second Part The Scarifice
9 Introduction 4.20
10 Mystic Circles of the Young Girls 3.12
11 Glorification of the Chosen One 1.32
12 Evocation of the Ancestors 0.41
13 Ritual Action of the Ancestors 3.26
14 Sacrificial Dance(The Chosen One) 4.47
Firebird Suite (1919)
15 Introduction 3.18
16 The Firebird’s Dance 0. 17
17 The Firebird’s Variations 1.27
18 The Princesses’ Round Dance 4.49
19 The Infernal Dance 4.40
20 Berceuse 4.01
21 Finale 2.28
Scherzo à la Russe
22 Symphonic Version (1944) 3.50
Tango No.72
23 Orchestral Version (1940) 2.27

Budapest Festival Orchestra
Iván Fischer, conductor


FLAC (Source: DSD64 (converted at KORG AudioGate 2.3.3 / DSD Filter Sharp Roll-off -3dB/42kHz / TPDF Diter)

%d bloggers like this: