Skip to content

Iggy Pop – Free (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Iggy Pop – Free (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 33:43 minutes | 380 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Caroline International

Free is the upcoming eighteenth studio album by American rock singer Iggy Pop. It features contributions from Noveller and Leron Thomas, and the title track was released along with the album announcement.

“This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice,” Pop explains in a press release.

The statement notes jazz trumpeter Leron Thomas and L.A.-based electric guitarist Noveller as the “principal players” collaborating with Pop on this exploratory new project. On “Free,” Thomas’ horn and Noveller’s guitar add layers of depth, somberness and exploration, as Pop’s echoing voice cuts through twice to proclaim, “I want to be free.”

Pop adds that his last tour left him feeling exhausted but ready for change, and the shifts eventually led him to these new sounds:

“By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long. But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that’s an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need—not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free. So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen.”

Post Pop Depression earned the former Stooges frontman his second GRAMMY nod, at the 59th GRAMMY Awards for Best Alternative Music Album. It was produced by GRAMMY winner Josh Homme of Queens of the Stone Age and as a tribute of sorts to David Bowie, Pop’s longtime friend the producer of his first two solo albums, and was released shortly after Bowie’s surprising passing.


01. Free (1:48)
02. Loves Missing (4:19)
03. Sonali (3:30)
04. James Bond (4:31)
05. Dirty Sanchez (4:22)
06. Glow In The Dark (3:58)
07. Page (4:08)
08. We Are The People (3:13)
09. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night (1:48)
10. The Dawn (2:09)


%d bloggers like this: