Skip to content

Ibragimova, Tiberghien – Schubert: Violin Sonatas, Rondo, Fantasy, Sei Mir Gegrusst (2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Ibragimova, Tiberghien – Schubert: Violin Sonatas, Rondo, Fantasy, Sei Mir Gegrusst (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Digital Booklet | 1.93 GB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: Hyperion

The luminous partnership of Alina Ibragimova and Cédric Tiberghien returns to Hyperion for this double album containing Schubert’s complete music for violin and piano. Their intelligence and technical prowess, their seamless and intimate connection as performers and their profound understanding of the music combine in magical performances.

While still in his teens, Schubert wrote four works for violin and piano that could have been given the label ‘sonata’, yet none of the four was published with that title. The first three, completed in 1816, bear instead the designation of ‘Sonatina’, perhaps to appeal to the amateur market. But these are highly accomplished works by the teenage composer and there is little ‘domestic’ feeling in the extended, mysterious unravellings of D385 which hint at compositions yet to come.

The later Violin Sonata in A major, D574 (now described as a ‘Duo’), urges the violinist on to greater virtuosic feats, and the Rondo in B minor even more so, with the piano sometimes treated as a surrogate orchestra. The extensive Fantasy in C major, written in the last year of Schubert’s life, is a masterpiece: the composer’s greatest achievement in this genre, which combines poignancy with sheer joy in life itself.

Composer: Franz Schubert
Performer: Alina Ibragimova, Cédric Tiberghien


Browsing my ever-expanding CD shelves the other day, I became aware that my compulsive acquiring disposition had netted me seven sets of Schubert’s Complete Works for Violin and Piano. What is more, they are all marked with distinction. A cursory glance reveals sets by Goldberg, Stern, Schneiderhan, Zukerman, Kremer, Martzy and Michele Auclair. Certainly in this area, I do not appear to have acquired any disappointments. Having listened to this new release from Hyperion with Ibragimova and Tiberghien, I do not hesitate with happiness to add this to my collection.

Ibragimova and Tiberghien are no strangers to each other, having performed in recitals together many times. They have also collaborated in several recordings, most notably the complete violin and piano works of Ravel and Szymanowski, also on Hyperion. I also note that there are three volumes of Beethoven Violin and Piano Sonatas on the Wigmore Hall Live label.

Their programme begins with the three sonatas from 1816, composed when Schubert was in his late teens. I have always known them as ‘sonatinas’, but perhaps the title ‘sonata’ is more apposite, as the A minor and G minor works are in no way small-scaled; their timings match the A major D574 and indeed some of the Beethoven violin and piano sonatas. These three early works have a Mozartean flavor, and are performed here with much grace and charm. There is great humour in the third movement of the D major. Both lyrical and dramatic characters are emphasized in the two sonatas in minor keys.

The ‘Duo’ Sonata D574 is a work on an altogether grander scale. There are no influences of Mozart here; Schubert comes into his own and finds his individual voice. This is a captivating playing. It opens with a delightful and warmly lyrical first movement. A delicious Scherzo follows, well articulated and capricious. The Andantino has a graceful simplicity, and the work concludes with an ardently played finale.

1826 saw the composition of the Rondo in B minor. I have never been overly enthusiastic about this work. However, there is a very fine recording with Yehudi and Hephzibah Menuhin from 1938 (Biddulph LAB 067). I have been playing this Hyperion version all week, and have only just realized how good a work it is. Ibragimova achieves a wonderful pianissimo at 1:03, and the sheer visceral excitement of the closing pages is breathtaking. The same pianissimo is present in the opening bars of the Fantasie, Schubert’s masterpiece from 1827. This work is the most frequently performed and recorded of his violin and piano works. There are many distinguished recordings available and this one can certainly stands tall in that company. The focal point of the Fantasie is the central variation section, on the theme Sei mir gegrüsst. Ibragimova teases out each of the four variations with delicacy and poise. It is most welcome to have as an encore at the end of the CD the original of Schubert’s setting of Ruckert’s Sei mir gegrüsst with the voice part played on the violin. One realizes how much the composer adapted the melody for the Fantasie.

These are magical performances by two young artists who clearly enjoy the joint experience of music-making. Intelligence and integrity mark these interpretations out with distinction. I was very taken by the rich tone of the violin, which is an Anselmo Bellosio of 1775. The Hyperion engineers are to be commended on achieving a splendid balance between the two instruments. The Henry Wood Hall offers a sympathetic acoustic. This is one of the listening highlights of my year – all in all a consummate achievement.


CD 01
1. Violin Sonata in D major Sonatina D384 | Allegro molto [6’40]
2. Violin Sonata in D major Sonatina D384 | Andante [3’53]
3. Violin Sonata in D major Sonatina D384 | Allegro vivace [3’52]
4. Violin Sonata in A minor Sonatina D385 | Allegro moderato [7’59]
5. Violin Sonata in A minor Sonatina D385 | Andante [6’36]
6. Violin Sonata in A minor Sonatina D385 | Menuetto | Allegro [2’11]
7. Violin Sonata in A minor Sonatina D385 | Allegro [4’22]
8. Violin Sonata in G minor Sonatina D408 | Allegro giusto [6’42]
9. Violin Sonata in G minor Sonatina D408 | Andante [6’22]
10. Violin Sonata in G minor Sonatina D408 | Menuetto [2’20]
11. Violin Sonata in G minor Sonatina D408 | Allegro moderato [3’50]

1. Violin Sonata in A major Duo D574 | Allegro moderato [8’11]
2. Violin Sonata in A major Duo D574 | Scherzo | Presto [4’09]
3. Violin Sonata in A major Duo D574 | Andantino [3’44]
4. Violin Sonata in A major Duo D574 | Allegro vivace [5’09]
5. Rondo in B minor D895 [13’30]
6. Fantasy in C major D934 | Andante molto [3’37]
7. Fantasy in C major D934 | Allegretto [4’48]
8. Fantasy in C major D934 | Andantino [9’29]
9. Fantasy in C major D934 | Tempo I Allegro vivace [5’36]
10. Sei mir gegrüsst! D741 [4’37]


%d bloggers like this: