Skip to content

I Ching – Of The Marsh And The Moon (1996/2003) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

I Ching – Of The Marsh And The Moon (1996/2003)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 54:50 minutes | 1,15 GB | Genre: New Age
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | © Chesky Records

Take three Chinese musicians schooled in the ancient art of traditional music making. A tradition that evokes images of romance and mystery. Add the futuristic, yet always musical sound of a synthesizer and apply state-of-the-art Chesky sonic technology. The result? I Ching: Of The Marsh and The Moon. This instrumental recording offers melodies that are at times distressingly beautiful, rhythmically driving and lushly melodic. Featuring Sisi Chen playing the Yangqin (Chinese hammered dulcimer), Tao Chen on Chinese flute and Bao Li on Erhu (two stringed Chinese fiddle) with the synthesizer of Joel Goodman, this is World music meeting New Age. This is I Ching.

…the selections…demonstrate deep understanding of oriental composition and how to arrange for the Western ear. Though distinctly Chinese, this work should still appeal to all those who appreciate ambient instrumental compositions with nature sounds and soothing synth. The artists skillfully evoke scenes of foreign shores and a different way of life – NAPRA Review, January 1997

01 – Tibet
02 – Young Girl’s Heart
03 – Jasmine Flower
04 – Silk Road
05 – Running Water
06 – The Three Rivers
07 – Gadamaylin
08 – Beauty Is Everywhere
09 – In That Distant Place
10 – Prayer
11 – Birds Flying In The Sky



%d bloggers like this: