Skip to content

hr-Sinfonieorchester, Michael Gielen – Pierre Bartholomee: Annees 1970-1985 (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

hr-Sinfonieorchester, Michael Gielen – Pierre Bartholomée: Années 1970-1985 (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:03:05 minutes | 617 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Evidence

Composer Pierre Bartholomée was also conductor. The art of combining instruments therefore has no secrets for him. The disc gathers works from the 1970s and 80s, and features remastered recordings and an unpublished score that has just been recorded during summer 2017: the opportunity to rediscover the interpretation of Michael Gielen at the head of the a magnificent Frankfurt radio orchestra in Harmonique, a piece inspired by extra-Western music. The richness of the timbral combinations gives the work a rhythmic density from which brilliant colors arise. Then, this orchestral effervescence leaves room for more transparency. The programme also features a more intimate piece by Pierre Bartholomée, his saxophone quartet entitled Ricercar. Considered too difficult in its time, the score had not been recorded. Bl!indman sax quartet has finally done it. The four musicians released it with ease and displayed its shimmering harmonies with a pleasure and a joy that make forget its formidable virtuosity.

Pierre Bartholomée (b.1937)
1. Harmonique
Trois Pôles entrelacés
2. Toccata
3. Ricercar
4. Canzone
5. Ricercar – double
6. Toccata – double
7. Fancy as a Ground
8. Ricercar

Ensemble Musique Nouvelle
Georges-Elie Octors, direction
Michael Gielen, direction
Bl!ndman [sax]


%d bloggers like this: