Skip to content

Howard Wall, Elmira Darvarova, Shoko Inoue – Brahms, Kahn, Koechlin & Dubois: Horn Trios (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Howard Wall, Elmira Darvarova, Shoko Inoue – Brahms, Kahn, Koechlin & Dubois: Horn Trios (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 00:52:53 minutes | 873 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Affetto Recordings

HORN TRIOS by Brahms, Kahn, Koechlin and Dubois is an exciting album that brings together three renowned musicians in a splendid trio collaboration. Hornist Howard Wall has been for many years at the forefront of highly-respected horn players, not only as a long-time member of two of the world’s preeminent symphony orchestras, but also as an avid chamber music instrumentalist and recording artist, praised for his “legendary low register” and ”impeccable intonation and stellar virtuosity” by The Horn Call Magazine, which also noted that “every note is a gem” in recently released recordings of Howard Wall. Violinist Elmira Darvarova has been hailed as “marvelous, in the Heifetz tradition” (American Record Guide) and acclaimed for her “intoxicating tonal beauty and beguilingly sensuous phrasing” and “silky-smooth voluptuous tone” (The Strad, London). Pianist Shoko Inoue was lauded by the Cleveland Plain Dealer as “a pianist who immerses heart, soul and everything into her generous artistry, with supremely sensitive and evocative playing.” This album brings thrilling and exhilarating interpretations of four gorgeous works for horn, violin and piano, one of which has been, for over 150 years, among the greatest ever masterpieces in the history of Western music, while two of the other works on this album – the glorious 1912 Trio Cantabile by Théodore Dubois, and the boisterous 1922 Serenade Op. 73 by Robert Kahn are presented on this album as only the second-ever commercially-released recordings of these works. Charles Koechlin’s eclectic suite Quatre Petite Pièces is a haunting and poignant quasi-impressionistic collection of four miniatures, that alternate, as in a kaleidoscope, contrasting atmospheric moods and degrees of sorrow and peaceful introspection. This marvelous album is an irresistible addition to the recorded repertoire, both for its contents as well as for the verve and exultation of the interpretations of these outstanding artists.

1. Howard Wall – Serenade in F Minor, Op. 73 (Version for Horn, Violin & Piano)
2. Howard Wall – Trio cantabile for Horn, Violin & Piano
3. Howard Wall – No. 1, Andante
4. Howard Wall – No. 2, Trés modéré
5. Howard Wall – No. 3, Allegretto quasi andantino
6. Howard Wall – No. 4, Scherzando
7. Howard Wall – I. Andante
8. Howard Wall – II. Scherzo. Allegro
9. Howard Wall – III. Adagio mesto
10. Howard Wall – IV. Finale. Allegro con brio


%d bloggers like this: