Skip to content

Hess Is More – 80 Years (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Hess Is More – 80 Years (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 46:14 minutes | 552 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © Edition Records

Led by Danish drummer Mikkel Hess, Hess Is More has built a strong following for their unique instrumentation and unorthodox arrangements, combining elements of jazz, electronica, Scandinavian folk, soundtrack music and classic pop – blended with a playfully melodic and decidedly humorous sensibility. Their new album, 80 years, features a wealth of collaborators, including East Coast Inspirational Singers, Rune Olesen and jazz legend Tom Harrel.

This is Danish drummer Mikkel Hess’s seventh album with his Hess Is More outfit, but his first for the ever-outward looking Edition Records label. In truth, 80 Years may not be everyone’s cup of tea, at least, not all of it. However in the midst of this marriage of Kraftwerk-esque synth pop and Carl Orff-like cantata there are some moments of exquisite jazz. Following the two initial synth- plus-singing tracks of the “80 Years” suite, the first intimation that there is any link to jazz occurs on “80 Years Part III” courtesy of Tom Harrell’s echo-enhanced, bluesy trumpet cadenza. Harrell is also notably heard on “Recollection of 80 Years,” again unaccompanied. “Chopin,” at 9 minutes the longest track, is arguably the most engaging piece, underpinned by a steady 4/4 pulse, it’s overlaid with all manner of electronica and the sporadic choral interjections of the East Coast Inspirational Singers.

01 – 80 Years, Pt. I
02 – 80 Years, Pt. II
03 – 80 Years, Pt. III
04 – Chopin
05 – Recollection of 80 Years
06 – It’s Backwards No Matter What I Do, Pt. I
07 – It’s Backwards No Matter What I Do, Pt. II
08 – It’s Backwards No Matter What I Do, Pt. III
09 – It’s Backwards No Matter What I Do, Pt. IV
10 – You May

Produced by W. Andrew Raposo, David Mason and Mikkel Hess with Matt Parker and Rasmus Bille Bahncke.

Mikkel Hess – vocal, drums, keyboard, bass, guitar
Tom Harrell – trumpet
Matt Parker – tenor and soprano saxophone, flute, clarinet
Rasmus Bille Bahncke – Roland SH-101 synthesizer
David Mason – electric drums, sequencer, drum machine, programming
W. Andrew Raposo: – bass
Nikolaj Hess – keyboard
Daniel Nentwig – keyboards
Rune Olesen – percussion
East Coast Inspirational Singers – vocals


%d bloggers like this: