Skip to content

Herman Dune – Notes from Vinegar Hill (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Herman Düne – Notes from Vinegar Hill (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 41:46 minutes | 485 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Bookelt, Front Cover | © Yaya Tova

Quarantined in the sleepy San Pedro neighborhood of Vinegar Hill, on the same harbour-adjacent street where Charles Bukowski lived out his final years, David-Ivar Herman Dune, visual artist and founding anchor of French antifolk stalwarts Herman Dune, turned those Covid-induced anxieties inward and emerged from his home studio with the new full-length LP Notes From Vinegar Hill. There’s something for everyone on this record – folksy rockers, Bakersfield twang, Big Pink-style Americana, 70s AM Gold, and rough-hewn Cold Turkey guitar stomps. The songs speak of the suffocating claustrophobia of isolation and fear, the anguish of being an immigrant in a country where policies harden by the moment, but also of the beauty of California, the ocean, and a quiet life with three black cats that turned the heart of a Scorpio toward felines. This album is dedicated to David Berman. Personnel: David Ivar: Voice, Piano, Guitars, Upright Bass, Drums, Percussions, Whistles and Harmonica Caitlin Rose: Vocals and Duet on Vinegar Hill Mayon: Vocals Spencer Cullum III: Pedal Steel Jon Natchez: Horns on Say You Love Me Too


1. Herman Düne – Say You Love Me Too
2. Herman Düne – Heartbroken & Free
3. Herman Düne – Freak Out Til the Morning Dew
4. Herman Düne – Ballad of Herman Dune (High on Rye & Lost at Sea)
5. Herman Düne – LA Blues
6. Herman Düne – Vinegar Hill
7. Herman Düne – Scorpio Rising
8. Herman Düne – Hawaii Morning
9. Herman Düne – Mookie Mookie
10. Herman Düne – Birds of Prey
11. Herman Düne – PS I Could Have Done Great Things
12. Herman Düne – Long Monday


%d bloggers like this: