Skip to content

Herbie Hancock – Quartet (1982/2000) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Herbie Hancock – Quartet (1982/2000)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:8:29 minutes | 1,24 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital booklet | © Columbia

Quartet is the thirty-fourth album by jazz pianist Herbie Hancock, his first with the V.S.O.P. Quartet without Freddie Hubbard and Wayne Shorter. It was originally issued in Japan on CBS/Sony, and later given a US release by Columbia.

This is an extremely symbolic album, for Herbie Hancock and the V.S.O.P. rhythm section essentially pass the torch of the ’80s acoustic jazz revival to the younger generation, as personified by then 19-year-old Wynton Marsalis. Recorded during a break on a tour of Japan, a month before Marsalis made his first Columbia album, the technically fearless teenaged trumpeter mostly plays the eager student, imitating Miles, Freddie Hubbard, and Clifford Brown, obviously relishing the challenge of keeping up with his world-class cohorts. Things start out conventionally enough with a couple of Monk standards, and then they progress into the mid-’60s Miles Davis post-bop zone, with Ron Carter and Tony Williams driving Marsalis and Hancock relentlessly forward. Several staples from the Miles/V.S.O.P. repertoire turn up (“The Eye of the Hurricane,” “The Sorcerer,” “Pee Wee”), and there is one wistful ballad, “I Fall in Love Too Easily,” where Marsalis sounds a bit callow, not yet the master colorist. Hancock remains a complex, stimulating acoustic pianist, the years of disco having taken no toll whatsoever on his musicianship. This looked like it would be a Japan-only release, but since the buzz on Marsalis was so loud, CBS put it out in the U.S. in 1982, fanning the flames even more. ~~ AllMusic Review by Richard S. Ginell

01 – Well You Needn’t
02 – ‘Round Midnight
03 – Clear Ways
04 – A Quick Sketch
05 – Eye of the Hurricane
06 – Parade
07 – The Sorcerer
08 – Pee Wee
09 – I Fall in Love Too Easily

Recorded on July 28, 1981 at Sony CBS Studios, Shinanomachi, Tokyo.

Herbie Hancock – Piano
Ron Carter – Bass
Wynton Marsalis – Trumpet
Tony Williams – Drums

Note: Recorded in 44.1kHz, mastered to 96kHz.


%d bloggers like this: