Skip to content

Helloween – 7 Sinners (2010/2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Helloween – 7 Sinners (2010/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 01:14:27 minutes | 900 MB | Genre: Metal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Atomic Fire

7 Sinners is the 13th studio album by German power metal band Helloween, released in 2010. A video clip for “Are You Metal?” was released 11 October 2010. The whole album could be heard on Myspace a week before the physical release. For the first time since 2000’s The Dark Ride, each song on the album is a solo composition, i.e. each member has written both the music and lyrics to his song with no additional input from any other member. 7 Sinners sold 1,900 copies in its first week of release in the U.S.

Helloween have always shown an interest in numerology, or at least the number seven, specifically, which they’ve incorporated in no less than three Keeper of the Seven Keys-related studio albums, and now, on their thirteenth career full-length, 7 Sinners (incidentally marking the band’s 25th anniversary), they made sure to include precisely 13 songs, except, no doubt, in Japan, where the mandatory bonus track will trump any numerological strategy. So much for that! Anyhoo, the impact of these numerical concerns upon the band’s musical output over the years has been pretty close to zero (Crap! There’s another number!), since the German power metal icons have only rarely wavered from the subgenre trappings that they first helped define so long ago, and 7 Sinners, for good and ill, isn’t about to change that. This is true even though singer Andi Deris shoulders the bulk of the songwriting load here, rather than founding guitarist Michael Weikath, and so there are numerous seriously infectious, speed-addled head bangers on tap (“Where the Sinners Go,” “Long Live the King,” “Far in the Future”), alongside several typically cheesy brotherhood anthems (“Are You Metal?,” “Raise the Noise” ), the odd, heavy-ass ballad (“The Smile of the Sun”), but not really any major surprises, unless you consider the flute solo on the aforementioned “Raise the Noise” cause for shock. However, if there’s anything that consistently distinguishes Helloween from most of their countless followers (and it’s not “The Sage, the Fool, the Sinner,” which sounds like Blind Guardian), it’s the band’s frequently quirky turn of lyric and sporadic sense of humor, both of which are still very much intact in the likes of “Who Is Mr. Madman,” “You Stupid Mankind,” and the sounds-funny-but-it’s-not “If a Mountain Could Talk” (ask Frank Zappa, c/o “Billy the Mountain”). But the primary takeaway of this review, if you hadn’t guessed as much already, is that 7 Sinners is ultimately yet another extremely solid, occasionally fantastic, but pretty much standard Helloween album. Luckily, Helloween’s standard efforts still prove far more interesting than the average power metal release, and that should please their fans and keep the band’s career chugging right along into their next studio album. And counting. – Eduardo Rivadavia

1. Helloween – Where the Sinners Go (Remastered 2020)
2. Helloween – Are You Metal? (Remastered 2020)
3. Helloween – Who Is Mr. Madman? (Remastered 2020)
4. Helloween – Raise the Noise (Remastered 2020)
5. Helloween – World of Fantasy (Remastered 2020)
6. Helloween – Long Live the King (Remastered 2020)
7. Helloween – The Smile of the Sun (Remastered 2020)
8. Helloween – You Stupid Mankind (Remastered 2020)
9. Helloween – If a Mountain Could Talk (Remastered 2020)
10. Helloween – The Sage, the Fool, the Sinner (Remastered 2020)
11. Helloween – My Sacrifice (Remastered 2020)
12. Helloween – Not yet Today (Remastered 2020)
13. Helloween – Far in the Future (Remastered 2020)
14. Helloween – I’m Free (Remastered 2020)
15. Helloween – Faster We Fall (Remastered 2020)
16. Helloween – Aiming High (Remastered 2020)


%d bloggers like this: