Skip to content

Helge Lien Trio – Hello Troll (2008) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Helge Lien Trio – Hello Troll (2008)
FLAC tracks 24bit/96kHz | Time 53:15 minutes | 1.08 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Ozella

Trolls, after all, are mythical creatures from Nordic mythology, and Nordic mythology of pre-Christian times has been a prominent theme among Scandinavian extreme metal bands. One of Finland’s best-known metal bands, in fact, is named Finntroll. But Hello Troll has nothing to do with metal. The focus of Norwegian pianist Helge Lien is straight-ahead post-bop jazz, and on Hello Troll, he embraces the time-honored acoustic piano trio format (Frode Berg is on upright bass, Knut Aalefaer on drums). Over the years, that format has been successful for a wide variety of acoustic jazz pianists ranging from Erroll Garner to Cecil Taylor to Red Garland; it also works well for Lien, who favors a clean-sounding post-bop pianism along the lines of Keith Jarrett, Bill Evans, Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock, and Ahmad Jamal.

Track List
01. Gamut Warning
02. Axis of Free Will
03. Radio
04. Troozee
05. Diverted Dance
06. It Is What It Is, But It Is
07. Halla Troll
08. Snurt
09. In The Wind Somewhere

Helge Lien – piano
Frode Berg – bass
Knut Aaleflæt – drums


%d bloggers like this: