Skip to content

Heather Crosse – Groovin’ At The Crosse Roads (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Heather Crosse – Groovin’ At The Crosse Roads (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 41:38 minutes | 500 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Ruf Records GmbH

Heather Crosse, a respected bassist from Clarksdale, Mississippi, now releases her debut on Ruf Records. Her band Heavy Suga‘ & the SweeTones has appeared frequently at the world-famous Ground Zero Blues Club and has performed at major festivals, opening for B.B. King, Robert Plant and others. As a singer, Crosse looks to soul and blues icons like Etta James, Koko Taylor and Big Mama Thornton for inspiration.

Her solo debut Groovin’ At The Crosse Roads shows what she’s really about. It’s all blues – with a soul twist. “I grew up singing Motown and a couple of my blues mentors did a lot of 70s soul. So that tends to come out in the songs that I’m writing,” explains Crosse, who co-wrote five of the album’s eleven tracks while also paying tribute to heroes such as Etta James and Big Mama Thornton. It’s the kind of mix she relies on to get Mississippi crowds dancing on a Saturday night.

“Groovin’ At the Crosse Roads” by Heather Crosse is a breakthrough debut. She takes her place with the finest musicians on today’s scene. Her singing, like that of Etta James or Maria Muldaur, combines the best of being a tough mature woman and at the same time a sweet, vulnerable girl. Her band, Heavy Suga’ & The SweeTones plays with authority and is a showcase for the outstanding rhythm section of Heather on bass and Lee Williams on drums. Fine original songs — personal and universal. Great move taking this project to venerable producer Jim Gaines, makes this album not just a good start but a powerful accomplishment. All aboard!” (Bob Margolin)

01. My Man Called Me
02. Why Does a Woman Need a Bass Guitar
03. Rockin’ Chair
04. Clarksdale Shuffle
05. Hurryin’ up to Relax
06. Walkin’ in Their Shoes
07. Damn Your Eyes
08. Steppin’ up Strong
09. Bad Boy Kiss
10. Call on Me
11. You Don’t Move Me No More

Heather Crosse, vocals, bass
Dan Smith, guitar
Mark Yacovone, keyboard
Lee Williams, drums


%d bloggers like this: