Skip to content

Hammock – Silencia (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Hammock – Silencia (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:02:05 minutes | 547 MB | Genre: Ambient
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Hammock Music

Silencia is the latest collection of evocative and lustrous compositions by the Nashville duo Hammock. The band’s 10th LP, Silencia closes a trilogy that began with 2017’s Mysterium, and’in the tradition of works by Arvo Pärt and Georgy Sviridov, and writers such as Li-Young Li and Maggie Ross’it is a balm, gesturing at the healing that can ascend in silence. Slow-churning and contemplative, Silencia most prominently features strings orchestrated by Viktor Orri Árnason (Nils Frahm, Olafur Arnalds), mists of guitar by Hammock’s Marc Byrd and Andrew Thompson, the hushed drone of horns, and 20 elegiac voices from the Budapest Art Choir. The record was mixed and mastered by Francesco Donadello (Winged Victory for the Sullen, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Ben Frost) in Berlin. Founded in 2003, Hammock’s music has appeared widely in film and television, most recently in Ricky Gervais’s ‘After Life’, and it has been praised by The Wire, Pitchfork, NPR, The Atlantic, and other major culture media.

01. Circular as Our Way (07:00)
02. Silencia (05:09)
03. When It Hurts to Remember (06:16)
04. Afraid to Forget (07:08)
05. Saudade (05:18)
06. In the Shattering of Things (05:51)
07. We Try to Make Sense of It All (03:56)
08. Slowly You Dissolve (05:18)
09. Fascinans (04:16)
10. Life Is Life (03:48)
11. Without Form and Void (08:05)


%d bloggers like this: