Skip to content

Habib Koite & Eric Bibb – Brothers In Bamako (2012) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Habib Koité & Eric Bibb – Brothers In Bamako (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 52:08 minutes | 618 MB | Genre: Blues, Folk, World
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Dixiefrog

A spirit of cross-cultural camaraderie lights up Brothers in Bamako, a collaborative project from American blues/folk artist Eric Bibb and West African singer/guitarist Habib Koite. Their original tunes embody a sense of shared values, while amiable, laid-back vibes pervade the sessions overall. Bibb’s Delta-rooted playing is complemented by the subtle lines that Koite unreels on guitar, banjo, and ukulele. The wide-eyed expectancy Bibb brings to “On My Way to Bamako” and “Tombouctou” is mirrored by the mood of gratitude infusing Koite’s “L.A.” Prayerful numbers like “Send Us Brighter Days” and “With My Maker I Am One” lend a spiritual tone to the proceedings. The theme of human unity is underscored by the duo’s bilingual interpretation of Bibb’s signature tune “Needed Time.” There are gentle interludes like the traditional African tune “Nani Le,” as well as thoughtful social commentaries like “We Don’t Care.” Fresh interpretations of Bob Dylan’s “Blowin’ in the Wind” and the blues standard “Goin’ Down the Road Feelin’ Bad” bring the album to a life-affirming close.

01. On my way to Bamako
02. L.A
03. Touma ni kelen / needed time
04. Tombouctou
05. We don’t care
06. Send us brighter days
07. Nani le
08. Khafole
09. With my maker I am one
10. Foro bana
11. Mami wata
12. Blowin’ in the wind
13. Goin’ down the road feelin’ bad


%d bloggers like this: