Gun Club – The Las Vegas Story (1984/2022) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

(Last Updated On: August 9, 2022)

Gun Club – The Las Vegas Story (1984/2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:23:54 minutes | 960 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Blixa Sounds

The tragedy of the Gun Club’s third album, The Las Vegas Story, is that it was largely ignored by both critics and fans due to the mixing and mastering disaster that marred its predecessor, Miami – an album that was full of great songs and performances but was so marred by poor sound that it sounded lifeless. Both records were issued by Chris Stein’s Animal label. The Las Vegas Story was produced by Jeff Eyrich who was just coming off T-Bone Burnett’s Proof Through the Night project and was about to enter the studio with both the Plimsouls and Thin White Rope. Its lineup features the return of original guitarist Kid Congo Powers, as well as drummer Terry Graham and new bassist Patricia Morrison (aka Pat Bag) from L.A. punk outfit the Bags. Late frontman /guitarist Jeffrey Lee Pierce was writing feverish rock & roll songs that took their inspiration from Southern blues and West Texas country music all framed by an angular, jagged post-punk energy. The screaming rawness at the heart of the band’s debut, Fire of Love, had been replaced by a dry, moaning lonesome, percussion heavy desert sound, space and echo float through the mix like a ghost through Pierce’s slide guitar playing. Bass drum and tom-toms fuel the attack with a basic, primitive nocturnal energy. Topics ranged from personal disintegration in “Walkin’ with the Beast,” and the country-blues-drenched “Eternally Is Here,” and the shambolic, two-step country confusion of “My Dreams” that quotes directly from Television’s “Marquee Moon” to the disappearance of the nation in “Bad America”‘s edgy guitar wrangle. There are a couple of covers on the set tossed right in the center of the album: “The Master Plan,” a spooky, brooding, rock read of Pharoah Sanders’ and Leon Thomas’ “The Creator Has a Master Plan,” and a slovenly, funereal version of “My Man’s Gone Now,” by George and Ira Gershwin from Porgy and Bess. The Las Vegas Story is a provocative record that reveals the Gun Club was pulled in many directions at once, and though the tension is in evidence on every track, it nonetheless holds together. After Fire of Love, The Las Vegas Story is their most satisfying album and is, perhaps, the band’s most visionary offering. – Thom Jurek

1. Gun Club – The Las Vegas Story / Walkin’ with the Beast (Remastered) (04:56)
2. Gun Club – Eternally is Here (Remastered) (03:00)
3. Gun Club – The Stranger in Our Town (Remastered) (05:12)
4. Gun Club – My Dreams (Remastered) (04:03)
5. Gun Club – The Master Plan (Remastered) (01:48)
6. Gun Club – My Man’s Gone Now (Remastered) (03:19)
7. Gun Club – Bad America (Remastered) (04:59)
8. Gun Club – Moonlight Motel (Remastered) (03:10)
9. Gun Club – Give up the Sun (Remastered) (06:04)
10. Gun Club – Secret Fires (Remastered) (02:36)
11. Gun Club – Brother and Sister (Live at Scorgie’s 1984) (03:25)
12. Gun Club – Walkin’ with the Beast (Live at Scorgie’s 1984) (04:46)
13. Gun Club – Eternally is Here (Live at Scorgie’s 1984) (03:11)
14. Gun Club – The Stranger in Our Town (Live at Scorgie’s 1984) (05:48)
15. Gun Club – Moonlight Motel (Live at Scorgie’s 1984) (03:26)
16. Gun Club – Like Calling up Thunder (Live at Scorgie’s 1984) (02:42)
17. Gun Club – Sleeping in Blood City (Live at Scorgie’s 1984) (03:44)
18. Gun Club – Goodbye Johnny (Live at Scorgie’s 1984) (06:32)
19. Gun Club – The House on Highland Avenue (Live at Scorgie’s 1984) (03:45)
20. Gun Club – Give up the Sun (Live at Scorgie’s 1984) (07:18)


%d bloggers like this: