Skip to content

Gregory Porter – Take Me To The Alley (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Gregory Porter – Take Me To The Alley (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 51:19 minutes | 1,04 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Sourfe: Qobuz | Artwork: Digital booklet | © Blue Note

His arrival in 2013 on Blue Note record label with the impressive Liquid Spirit has seen him emerge as one of the brilliant voices in soul’n’jazz over the last few years. Gregory Porter has an especially soulful vocal range, far richer and more complex than those of his colleagues. Jazz, soul, gospel, blues, the Californian knows every corner of Great Black Music, but it is his ability for fusion that truly sets him apart. He is no simple ‘heir’ to Donny Hathaway like others have tried to be. With Take Me To The Alley, which is also released on Blue Note, Porter once again transcends genres. The new record also shows that, far from having been fatal, success allowed him to mature both as a person and artistically. The singer has chosen to leave the euphoria of Brooklyn with his wife and son to return to Bakersfield in California to be closer to his siblings. On Take Me To The Alley, Gregory Porter is supported by the core of his group. Pianist and musical director Chip Crawford, bassist Aaron James, drummer Emmanuel Harrold, alto saxophonist Yosuke Sato and tenor saxophonist Tivon Pennicott offer him a royal backing, and the album is an emotive experience from start to finish Note that Take Me To The Alley also welcomes guests such as singer Alicia Olatuja, trumpeter Keyon Harrold and organist Ondrel Pivec.

01 – Holding On
02 – Don’t Lose Your Steam
03 – Take Me To The Alley
04 – Day Dream
05 – Consequence Of Love
06 – In Fashion
07 – More Than A Woman
08 – In Heaven
09 – Insanity
10 – Don’t Be A Fool
11 – Fan The Flames
12 – French African Queen


%d bloggers like this: