Skip to content

Grace Jones – The Disco Years (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Grace Jones – The Disco Years (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 03:47:13 minutes | 4,85 GB | Genre: Disco
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | © Universal Music GmbH

Disco is newly digitally remastered 3-CD set featuring editions of her “Portfolio” (1977), “Fame” (1978), and “Muse” (1979) albums expanded with unreleased tracks and rare mixes.

“The Disco Years” is a beguiling time capsule, bringing together Ms Jones’s three pivotal, era-defining albums recorded for Island Records from the late-‘70s, Studio 54 disco epoch. Produced by Tom Moulton, the undisputed ‘father of the disco mix’, and recorded at Sigma Sound studios in Philadelphia, ‘Portfolio’, ‘Fame’ and ‘Muse’ are three of the most disco-sounding records of all time. Only sporadically available as single CD albums for many years, ‘The Disco Box’ re-presents them as a single collection over three discs, lovingly remastered with a host of bonus B-sides, edits, instrumentals and in-era and extended mixes, some of them were previously unreleased!

Grace Jones – Portfolio (1977/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 79:42 minutes | 1,7 GB

Disco mix king Tom Moulton produced these tracks at Sigma Sound in Philadelphia using the same musicians Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff held hostage for their sessions. The results are quite different: though polished, these tracks don’t jump out at you. It’s really a producer’s album. Moulton probably had these tracks completed long before he knew who was going to sing them. Give Grace Jones credit though, she gives credence to old fuddies like “Send in the Clowns,” “La Vie en Rose” is lilting, and “I Need a Man,” displays a vulnerable Jones.

01 – Send In The Clowns
02 – What I Did For Love
03 – Tomorrow
04 – La Vie En Rose
05 – Sorry
06 – That’s The Trouble
07 – I Need A Man
08 – Sorry (Bonus / Disco Mix)
09 – That’s The Trouble (Bonus / Disco Mix)
10 – I Need A Man (Bonus / 12″ Version)
11 – I Need A Man (Bonus / Instrumental Version)
12 – Sorry (Bonus / Instrumental Version)
13 – That’s The Trouble (Bonus / Instrumental Version)
14 – La Vie En Rose (Bonus / Instrumental Version)

Grace Jones – Fame (1978/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 77:11 minutes | 1,63 GB

After a relative success with her debut release, Grace Jones and Tom Moulton delivered a rapid follow-up album to Portfolio. Fame, recorded in Sigma Sound Studios in Philadelphia, consisted of a set of mainstream-oriented disco tracks and repeated the scheme of the previous album. Like on Portfolio, side A was a continuous medley, and side B again opened with a re-interpretation of a French classic, this time it was Jacques Prévert’s “Les Feuilles mortes”, sung in English as “Autumn Leaves”. The album was “dedicated with love to a true Artist, Jean-Paul Goude”, as Jones put it in the liner notes.

01 – Do Or Die
02 – Pride
03 – Fame
04 – Autumn Leaves
05 – All On A Summer’s Night
06 – Am I Ever Gonna Fall In Love In New York City
07 – Below The Belt
08 – Do Or Die (Bonus / Disco Version)
09 – Comme Un Oiseau Qui S’Envole (Bonus / 12″ Version)
10 – Anema E Core (Bonus / Long Version)
11 – Do Or Die (Bonus / Instrumental Version)
12 – Comme Un Oiseau Qui S’Envole (Bonus / Instrumental Version)
13 – Am I Ever Gonna Fall In Love In New York City (Bonus / Instrumental Version)
14 – Anema E Core (Bonus / Instrumental Version)

Grace Jones – Muse (1980/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 70:58 minutes | 1,52 GB

A fine dance and club album, Grace Jones was still essentially a disco act when she recorded this at the end of the ’70s. The campy tendencies and flat vocals were subordinated to the array of cross-rhythms, textures, and production devices buttressing the tracks. Jones did some outstanding numbers during this era, but seldom utilized her voice beyond either a decorative or supporting role. She wasn’t (and still isn’t) a soulful or great singer, but future albums would demonstrate that she could do more things than mouth lines and insert herself into rhythm tracks.

01 – Sinning
02 – Suffer
03 – Repentance (Forgive Me)
04 – Saved
05 – Atlantic City Gambler
06 – I’ll Find My Way To You
07 – Don’t Mess With The Messer
08 – On Your Knees
09 – Don’t Mess With The Messer (Bonus / 12″ Version)
10 – La Vie En Rose (Bonus / Short Version)
11 – Do Or Die (Bonus / 7″ Version)
12 – Comme Un Oiseau Qui S’Envole (Bonus / 7″ Version)
13 – Am I Ever Gonna Fall In Love In New York City (Bonus / 7″ Version)
14 – On You Knees (Bonus / 7″ Edit)
15 – Don’t Mess With The Messer (Bonus / Single Version)


%d bloggers like this: