Skip to content

Gordon Grdina, Paul Motian, Gary Peacock – Think Like The Waves (2006) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Gordon Grdina, Paul Motian, Gary Peacock – Think Like The Waves (2006)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 58:29 minutes | 1,12 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet

The young, Vancouver guitarist and oud player Gordon Grdina sought out Gary Peacock after a Keith Jarrett concert in San Francisco in 2000, and for the next five years Gary became his mentor and teacher. At their last meeting at Gary’s house in upstate New York there was virtually no discussion, they just sessioned together for an hour or so, and the next day Gordon asked Gary if he would do a trio record. Gary agreed, and helped bring Paul Motian (another of Gordon’s musical heroes) into the picture. Recorded in Brooklyn in January, Think Like the Waves is a remarkable international jazz debut, full of compelling original tunes by Grdina and deep interaction by the trio.

It’s not every jazz musician who doubles on guitar and oud (the centuries-old Middle Eastern forerunner of the mandolin), but Gordon Grdina makes the combination work. He brought 14 difficult originals to the studio for a recording session with veterans Gary Peacock and Paul Motian, drawing on his interest in blending elements of Arabic music and various jazz genres. When Grdina is playing oud, the songs often seem like they evolved spontaneously in the studio, especially the meandering “Platform” and the dark “Renunciation.” On guitar, Grdina’s gift for spaciousness and lyricism in the longing “Distant” sounds reminiscent of Jim Hall. The brooding “Cobble Hill” is another striking performance. While Peacock and Motian had their work cut out for them engaging this music, they provide terrific interaction with Gordon Grdina throughout the sessions.

01 – Yellow Spot into the Sun
02 – Different Places
03 – Platform
04 – Renunciation
05 – Morning Moon
06 – Ginger Root
07 – 100 Years
08 – Distant
09 – Combustion
10 – Think Like the Waves
11 – Cobble Hill
12 – Albert the Monk
13 – String Quartet #6
14 – Strathcona

Produced by Gordon Grdina and Tony Reif.
Recorded by Aya Takemura on January 21-22, 2006 at Brooklyn Recording, New York.

Gordon Grdina – guitar, oud
Gary Peacock – bass
Paul Motian – drums


%d bloggers like this: