Skip to content

Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band – The Reset (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band – The Reset (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/48kHz | Time – 00:27:47 minutes | 345 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Music Content

Written and arranged by Gordon Goodwin, “The Reset” reflects on some of the changes felt during the world’s collective experience of dealing with Covid-19. A departure from most of their other material, there is less emphasis on melody and structure with more free association, compositionally speaking. The nearly 7-minute excursion features more programming elements like synth textures, drum loops, and SFX, but the focus remains the amazing human beings that perform the music. To highlight the incredible musicians in the 18-person Big Phat Band, multiple mixes were created, each one featuring a different soloist, including Eric Marienthal (soprano sax), Jeff Driskill (tenor sax), Mike Rocha (trumpet), Francisco Torres (trombone), and Gordon Goodwin on keyboard. This version, the title track to the newly released 5-song EP, features guitarist Will Brahm and Brian Scanlon on tenor sax.

1. The Reset (06:43)
2. Six Feet Away (05:37)
3. Through the Fire (05:01)
4. My Man Sam (06:07)
5. Cell Talk (04:19)


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: