Skip to content

Glenn Yarbrough – Come And Sit By My Side (1957/2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Glenn Yarbrough – Come And Sit By My Side (1957/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 33:36 minutes | 299 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front cover | © Tradition Records

The instantly recognizable tenor of legendary folksinger Glenn Yarbrough — the voice of the Limeliters and eventually Coca-Cola — launches into a three-quarter time version of “Waltzing Matilda” without the slightest bit of irony on 1957’s Come Sit by My Side. His second recording (the first arrived in 1951) was a veritable set list for what was to become the folk revival, and it remains one of the most definitive recordings of the genre. While a much sparser affair than the high-harmony Limeliters records that were to follow, Yarbrough instills each track, from staples like the “Banks of the Ohio” and “Dark as a Dungeon” to more obscure English offerings such as “All ‘Round My Hat,” with the kind supernatural innocence and charm that would inform the approach of numerous ’60s revival groups like the New Christy Minstrels and the Serendipity Singers. ~ James Christopher Monger

01 – Waltzing Matilda
02 – Red River Valley
03 – All Around My Hat
04 – My Mule Sal
05 – Bow Down Your Head and Cry
06 – Come Again
07 – A Capital Ship
08 – Dark as a Dungeon
09 – The Tailor and the Mouse
10 – Banks of the Ohio
11 – John Hardy
12 – Suspiros del Chanchamayo
13 – Old Maid’s Song
14 – Lonesome Valley

Arranged by Fred Brooks.


%d bloggers like this: