Skip to content

Giovanni Guidi – Avec le temps (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Giovanni Guidi – Avec le temps (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 41:59 minutes | 733 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM

The Italian pianist Giovanni Guidi often says “The good teacher is the one that lets you stare out of the window daydreaming sometimes”. Those who have heard him perform alongside fellow musician Enrico Rava, who spotted his talent at the age of 12, or who have ever had the pleasure of listening to his music, will swiftly make the connection between this lovely little saying and his poetic piano playing. On the album Ida Lupino that he recorded for ECM in 2016 with Gianluca Petrella, Louis Sclavis and Gerald Cleaver, Guidi takes us on a beautiful and dreamlike journey and the lightness of his piano is just sublime. Three years later, Giovanni Guidi now leads a new group for his second album with Manfred Sicher’s label, consisting of tenor saxophonist Francesco Bearzatti, guitarist Roberto Cecchetto, double bass player Thomas Morgan and drummer João Lobo. Opening with the title track, Léo Ferré’s most famous song Avec le temps, is straight away a reminder of how popular music has shaped Guidi’s own music. Avec le temps is an album that takes its time; the improvisations are lengthy and the passages of inter-play are intense but a story flows from Guidi’s fingertips and through the keys and this time his four fellow players join him in telling it. This magnificent contemporary jazz opus is concluded with Tomasz, a moving personal tribute to the Polish trumpeter Tomasz Stanko who died in July 2018.

1. Avec Le Temps 6:33
2. 15th Of August 6:50
3. Postludium And A Kiss 4:54
4. No Taxi 2:56
5. Caino 4:43
6. Johnny The Liar 3:03
7. Ti Stimo 7:05
8. Tomasz 5:56

Giovanni Guidi, piano
Francesco Bearzatti, tenor saxophone
Roberto Cecchetto, guitar
Thomas Morgan, double bass
João Lobo, drums


%d bloggers like this: