Skip to content

Georgia – Seeking Thrills (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Georgia – Seeking Thrills (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 48:37 minutes | 602 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Domino Recording Co

Seeking thrills is a sharply paced and fascinating album, packed with injections of lightness and fun, pared with rich, bubbling melodies that makes listening to it an experience that takes you into the party, through electro-pop into R&B, and back again. Georgia’s deep, brooding reflections carry us through euphoria, heartache and melancholy but always with the memory of the good Times. Georgia is reminding you of the altitude of your last real thrill, and when we turn the record on, we’re there again, aching for more. Heavily inspired by Chicago house and Detroit techno of the early 80s, seeking thrills fuses analogue club sounds with solid pop songwriting and showcases georgia’s lifelong love affair with the drums.

The cover and title of Georgia Barnes’ second album appear to announce an air of excitement, as the twelve tracks of Seeking Thrills (and an alternative version of Never Let You Go as a bonus track) are a veritable dance festival from start to finish. And much like many of the biggest dance floor fillers of musical history (Dancing Queen, I Wanna Dance With Somebody), Georgia uses the same theme to get everybody moving: dance. About Work The Dancefloor is, like many of the other tracks, catchy and punchy but overall liberating. 24 Hours’ main theme is also dancing, specifically the fusion of two bodies on the dance floor moving to the same beat. The musician herself stated that the inspiration behind the musical production of the project was first and foremost Chicago’s house and Detroit’s techno scenes. The end result is a mixture of energy and emotion, exemplified by the evocative lyrics of strong feelings (Feel It), a sense of urgency (I Can’t Wait) and even the shivers associated with the notion of danger (Thrill). Also worth noting is the image from the album cover is a shot from the work of American photographer and documentarian Nancy Honey, who gave Georgia access to her archives from the 1980s. – Nicolas Magenham

1. Started Out (03:41)
2. About Work the Dancefloor (03:28)
3. Never Let You Go (03:47)
4. 24 Hours (03:05)
5. Mellow (feat. Shygirl) (03:39)
6. Till I Own It (03:49)
7. I Can’t Wait (03:08)
8. Feel It (03:52)
9. Ultimate Sailor (03:36)
10. Ray Guns (03:26)
11. The Thrill (feat. Maurice) (04:27)
12. Honey Dripping Sky (04:53)
13. Never Let You Go (Alternative Version) (03:46)


%d bloggers like this: