Skip to content

Genesis – Selling England By the Pound (2008) [DVD-AUDIO ISO]

Genesis – Selling England By the Pound
Artist: Genesis | Album: Selling England By the Pound | Style: Progressive, Art Rock | Year: 2008 [1973 original] | Quality: DVD-Audio (MLP 5.1 96kHz/24Bit, DTS 5.1 96kHz/24Bit, Dolby AC3 5.1 48kHz/16Bit) | Bitrate: lossless | Tracks: 8 | Size: ~4.31 Gb | Recovery: 3% | Covers: in archive | Release: transfer SACD by © Virgin Records Ltd. (50999 519559 2 2), 2008 | Note: Not Watermarked

Genesis proved that they could rock on Foxtrot but on its follow-up Selling England by the Pound they didn’t follow this route, they returned to the English eccentricity of their first records, which wasn’t so much a retreat as a consolidation of powers. For even if this eight-track album has no one song that hits as hard as “Watcher of the Skies,” Genesis hasn’t sacrificed the newfound immediacy of Foxtrot: they’ve married it to their eccentricity, finding ways to infuse it into the delicate whimsy that’s been their calling card since the beginning. This, combined with many overt literary allusions — the Tolkeinisms of the title of “The Battle of Epping Forest” only being the most apparent — gives this album a storybook quality. It plays as a collection of short stories, fables, and fairy tales, and it is also a rock record, which naturally makes it quite extraordinary as a collection, but also as a set of individual songs. Genesis has never been as direct as they’ve been on the fanciful yet hook-driven “I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)” — apart from the fluttering flutes in the fade-out, it could easily be mistaken for a glam single — or as achingly fragile as on “More Fool Me,” sung by Phil Collins. It’s this delicate balance and how the album showcases the band’s narrative force on a small scale as well as large that makes this their arguable high-water mark.

01. Dancing With The Moonlit Knight (08:00)
02. I Know What I Like (04:12)
03. Firth Of Fifth (09:35)
04. More Fool Me (03:13)
05. The Battle Of Epping Forest (11:41)
06. After The Ordeal (04:14)
07. The Cinema Show (10:44)
08. Aisle Of Plenty (01:58)


%d bloggers like this: