Skip to content

Gene Simmons – Kiss: Gene Simmons (1978/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Gene Simmons – Kiss: Gene Simmons (1978/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 38:59 minutes | 1,52 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | © Island Def Jam

Gene Simmons was released in 1978 along with solo albums by the other members of the hard rock band KISS. The album was produced by Gene Simmons and Sean Delaney, and peaked at #22 on the US Billboard albums chart.

Most Kiss fans associate Gene Simmons with the band’s hardest-rocking compositions; after all, he’s responsible for such heavies as “Watchin’ You,” “Calling Dr. Love,” “Larger Than Life,” and “Goin’ Blind.” So many Kiss fans must have been surprised when they heard Gene’s diverse 1978 solo album, with songs that contained choirs and string arrangements, plus elements of Beatles pop, ’70s funk/disco, and feel-good rock & roll. Granted, there are a few heavy rockers (such as the single “Radioactive,” “Burning Up With Fever,” and “See You in Your Dreams”), but Simmons was always a closet Beatles fan, as evidenced by “See You Tonite,” “Always Near You,” “Man of 1,000 Faces,” and “Mr. Make Believe.” The only real misstep is a preposterously embarrassing cover of the Disney classic “When You Wish Upon a Star” (complete with Disney-esque sound effects/music). But Simmons made sure that the top artists of the day lent a hand (Aerosmith’s Joe Perry, Cheap Trick’s Rick Nielsen, Donna Summer, Cher, Bob Seger, Jeff “Skunk” Baxter, Helen Reddy, and Janis Ian), which makes Gene’s solo album an unpredictable yet ultimately enjoyable release. –AllMusic Review by Greg Prato

1 Radioactive 03:51
2 Burning Up With Fever 04:22
3 See You Tonite 02:28
4 Tunnel Of Love 03:53
5 True Confessions 03:29
6 Living In Sin 03:51
7 Always Near You / Nowhere To Hide 04:12
8 Man Of 1,000 Faces 03:18
9 Mr. Make Believe 04:02
10 See You In Your Dreams 02:50
11 When You Wish Upon A Star 02:43

Gene Simmons – vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, co-producer
Neil Jason – bass guitar
Elliot Randall – guitar
Allan Schwartzberg – drums
Sean Delaney – percussion, backing vocals, co-producer
Ron Frangipane – symphonic arrangements and conductor of Members of the New York and Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestras
Gordon Grody, Diva Gray, Kate Sagal, Franny Eisenberg, Carolyn Ray – backing vocals
Eric Troyer – piano and vocals on “Radioactive” & “Living in Sin”
Steve Lacey – guitar on “Radioactive”
John Shane Howell – classical guitar, segue between “Radioactive” & “Burning Up with Fever”
Richard Gerstein – piano on “True Confessions” & “Always Near You/Nowhere to Hide”
Joe Perry – guitar on “Radioactive” & “Tunnel of Love”
Bob Seger – backing vocals on “Radioactive” & “Living in Sin”
Rick Nielsen – guitar on “See You in Your Dreams”
Helen Reddy – background vocals on “True Confessions”
Jeff “Skunk” Baxter – guitar on “Burning Up with Fever”, “See You Tonite”, “Tunnel of Love” & “Mr. Make Believe”
Donna Summer – background vocals on “Burning Up with Fever,” & “Tunnel Of Love”
Janis Ian – backing vocals on the “Prelude to Radioactive”
Cher – spoken word phone call on “Living in Sin”
Mitch Weissman & Joe Pecorino (Beatlemania) – backing vocals on “Mr. Make Believe”, “See You Tonite” & “Always Near You/Nowhere to Hide”
Michael Des Barres – background vocals on “See You in Your Dreams”
Ritchie Ranno – guitar on “Tunnel of Love”
The Citrus College Singers – chorus on “True Confessions” & “Always Near You/Nowhere to Hide”


Ace Frehley – Kiss: Ace Frehley (1978/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

%d bloggers like this: