Skip to content

Gene Clark – No Other (Deluxe Edition) (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Gene Clark – No Other (Deluxe Edition) (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:23:33 minutes | 2,85 GB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © 4AD

Though wildly misunderstood when first released (like most art that’s ahead of its time), Gene Clark’s third solo album—his most focused and intricately-produced shot at musical immortality—is now revered as something of a lost masterpiece. Expectations were high for the former Byrd, who had signed a solo deal after he’d been the bright spot in the band’s abortive 1973 reunion. Clark seemed poised to write and record a blockbuster that could power his solo career; the studio was filled with choice players like Allman Brothers drummer Butch Trucks, percussionist Joe Lala, ex-Byrd Chris Hillman on mandolin, Steve Bruton, Jesse Ed Davis, Danny Kortchmar on guitars and Claudia Lennear on vocals. Instead, No Other busted its recording budget, disappointed its label and perplexed fans—an expensive commercial flop that hung over Clark’s career until his death at 46 in 1991.

Remastered with a brighter, more multidimensional sound for its 45th anniversary reissue, the original eight tracks are supplemented by twenty extra takes from sessions that show the songs’ evolutions, including a slow, loopy version of Clark’s earlier hit, “Train Leaves Here This Morning,” co-written by Bernie Leadon and later recorded by The Eagles. Producer Thomas Jefferson Kaye (aka Tommy Kontos) grew close to Clark during the sessions and came to share his vision for the project. Their collaboration proved to be the doubled-edged sword at the heart of No Other, one that fashioned a mystical, multi-layered, intricately-arranged singer/songwriter album with forward looking psychedelic and R&B touches. The strongest tracks, the menacing synth-backed folk of “The Silver Raven” (written about his wife’s shoes), the fragile melody of the seemingly anti-drug themed “From A Silver Phial” (which speaks of “a mind that sleeps inside tomorrow,”) and the glorious title track, with its sinuous changes and low keyboard line doubling the vocal choruses, are among the best of Clark’s short career. And his singing throughout is extremely moving. He clearly believed in this project.

And yet the overdubbed production confounded many. Slow ballads and mid-tempo songs predominate, and as Chris Hillman points out in the liner notes, Clark refused to tour, do interviews or participate in any promotional efforts, essentially dooming an ambitious project to failure. Original label Asylum refused to employ any marketing muscle and the album was deleted from the label’s catalog within two years. Genius or a colossal miscalculation? This confounding prism continues to turn. – Robert Baird

01. Life’s Greatest Fool (2019 Remaster) (3:51)
02. Silver Raven (2019 Remaster) (6:35)
03. No Other (2019 Remaster) (5:20)
04. Strength of Strings (2019 Remaster) (4:27)
05. From a Silver Phial (2019 Remaster) (5:03)
06. Some Misunderstanding (2019 Remaster) (5:45)
07. The True One (2019 Remaster) (4:18)
08. Lady of the North (2019 Remaster) (6:29)
09. From a Silver Phial (Version 4) (2019 Remaster) (3:51)
10. Silver Raven (Version 2) (2019 Remaster) (6:35)
11. Some Misunderstanding (Version 3) (2019 Remaster) (5:20)
12. Life’s Greatest Fool (Version 2) (2019 Remaster) (4:27)
13. Train Leaves Here This Morning (Version 2) (2019 Remaster) (5:03)
14. Lady of the North (Version 2) (2019 Remaster) (5:45)
15. The True One (Version 2) (2019 Remaster) (4:18)
16. Strength of Strings (Version 2) (2019 Remaster) (6:29)
17. No Other (Version 2) (2019 Remaster) (5:40)
18. From a Silver Phial (Version 1) (2019 Remaster) (4:08)
19. Life’s Greatest Fool (Version 1) (2019 Remaster) (4:10)
20. No Other (Version 1) (2019 Remaster) (5:15)
21. Lady of the North (Version 1) (2019 Remaster) (5:54)
22. Some Misunderstanding (Version 1) (2019 Remaster) (5:12)
23. Silver Raven (Version 1) (2019 Remaster) (5:00)
24. Train Leaves Here This Morning (Version 1) (2019 Remaster) (5:46)
25. The True One (Version 1) (2019 Remaster) (4:42)
26. Strength of Strings (Version 1) (2019 Remaster) (6:23)
27. Life’s Greatest Fool (Single Version) (3:10)
28. Silver Raven (Single Edit) (2019 Remaster) (3:21)


%d bloggers like this: