Skip to content

Gary Numan – Telekon (1980/1998/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Gary Numan – Telekon (1980/1998/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 1:20:28 minutes | 1,56 GB | Genre: Electronic, Rock, Alternative
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Front cover | © Beggars Banquet Records

Telekon is the fourth studio album (and second album under his own name) by the British musician Gary Numan. It debuted at the top of the UK Albums Chart in September 1980, making it his third consecutive (and to date, final) No. 1 album. Telekon was also the third and final studio release of what Numan retrospectively termed the “machine” section of his career, following 1979’s Replicas and The Pleasure Principle.

Gary Numan’s follow-up to the flawless The Pleasure Principle was 1980’s Telekon. Although it was another mega-hit back home in England (his third consecutive number one album), Numan could not follow up his massive new wave hit “Cars” in the United States, where he was unjustly slapped with the one-hit-wonder tag. Telekon would also turn out to be the last true classic Numan album, as monetary problems and an unfocused attempt to try different musical forms (as well as a short-lived retirement) would steer him away from his original vision. Although Telekon was indeed a strong album, it could have been even stronger if it included the U.K. Top Ten singles “I Die: You Die” and “We Are Glass” (both were recorded during the Telekon sessions). Numan experimented with funk for the first time in his career (“Remind Me to Smile”), but there were still plenty of chilling synth excursions to keep the Numan faithful satisfied – “This Wreckage,” “The Aircrash Bureau,” “I’m an Agent,” and “I Dream of Wires” are all choice cuts. The 1998 Beggars Banquet re-release eventually did include both the U.K. singles, as well as several other rarities, including a bare “piano version” of “Down in the Park”.

01 – This Wreckage
02 – The Aircrash Bureau
03 – Telekon
04 – Remind Me to Smile [UK Mix]
05 – Sleep By Windows
06 – I’m an Agent
07 – I Dream of Wires
08 – Remember I Was Vapour
09 – Please Push No More
10 – The Joy Circuit
11 – We Are Glass
12 – Trois Gymnopedies (1st Movement) [Demo]
13 – I Die: You Die
14 – Down in the Park [Piano Version]
15 – A Game Called Echo
16 – Photograph
17 – Remind Me to Smile [USA Mix]
18 – I Die: You Die [Alternate Video Version]


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: