Skip to content

Garrick Ohlsson – Smetana: Czech Dances & On the seashore (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Garrick Ohlsson – Smetana: Czech Dances & On the seashore (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 62:06 minutes | 978 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: hyperion-records | Digital Booklet | © Hyperion Records

Smetana’s two sets of Czech Dances—the first comprising four Chopin-esque Polkas, the second exploring other dance forms more associated with Dvořák—provide the ideal vehicle for the understated pianism of Garrick Ohlsson. The evocative tone poem in miniature On the seashore completes the programme.

What courage must have been required to tackle these most nationalistic of all Smetana’s works, and what accomplished to present them not only lovingly but fairly bursting with character. –Gramophone, May ’16

Ohlsson’s performances are consistently attractive. Performance **** Recording **** –BBC Music Magazine,June’16

Lesser-known Smetana played with all the ardour and advocacy it needs; the sound is class-leading, too. MusicWeb,May’16 /// A delightful discovery and a companion to the dances of Brahms and Dvorak. –MusicWeb, Aug’16


1. Polka in F-sharp Minor
2. Polka in a Minor
3. Polka in F Major
4. Polka in B-flat Major
5. Furiant in a Minor
6. Slepicka in B-flat Major
7. Oves in A-flat Major
8. Medved in C Major
9. Cibulicka in G Minor
10. Dupák in D Major
11. Hulán in a Major
12. Obkrocák in E-flat Major
13. Sousedská in B Major
14. Skocná in F Major
15. On the Seashore – A Reminiscence


%d bloggers like this: