Skip to content

Gabriel Faure Vol. 4: Duos and Trios with piano – Eric Le Sage, Alexandre Tharaud, Emmanuel Pahud, Pierre Colombet, Raphael Merlin (2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Gabriel Faure Vol. 4: Duos and Trios with piano – Eric Le Sage, Alexandre Tharaud, Emmanuel Pahud, Pierre Colombet, Raphael Merlin (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:09:11 minutes | 1,05 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Alpha Classics / Outhere Music

For the fourth and penultimate volume of his Fauré series, Eric Le Sage has been joined by Alexandre Tharaud, Emmanuel Pahud, and François Salque, long-standing accomplices, in order to record these pieces for four hands. Recipient of numerous prizes both in France and abroad, this complete Fauré series is already asserting itself as a reference for the interpretation of Gabriel Fauré’s chamber music with piano.

“the presence of Emmanuel Pahud is luxury casting, somehow making the most familiar sound fresh…the highlight of the disc is surely the late Piano Trio. In its grave Andantino the two string players are superbly reactive…The anguished finale is potently conveyed, too; the impact of Faure’s extraordinarily angular writing strengthened by the sheer ardour of the playing.” –Gramophone Magazine

“The somewhat blunt title of this disc belies the beguiling qualities of the music it embraces. This is Fauré the charmer, the weaver of enchanting spells, the delicate craftsman of impeccable miniatures as represented in his piano pieces for four hands and other jewels of chamber music.” –The Telegraph

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
Dolly Op. 56 pour piano à 4 mains
1 Berceuse, Allegro moderato 2’20
2 Mi-a-ou, Allegro vivo 1’46
3 Le jardin de Dolly,Andantino 2’15
4 Kitty-Valse, Tempo di Valse 2’24
5 Tendresse, Andante 3’06
6 Le pas Espagnol, Allegro 2’01
Masques et bergamasques Op. 112 pour piano à 4 mains
7 I – Ouverture, Allegro molto vivo 3’32
8 II – Menuet, Tempo di menuetto 2’35
9 III – Gavotte, Allegro 3’08
10 IV – Pastorale, Andantino tranquillo 3’39
Souvenirs de Bayreuth, «Fantaisie en forme de quadrille… de R.Wagner» pour piano à 4 mains
11 Souvenirs de Bayreuth – I 0’39
12 Souvenirs de Bayreuth – II 0’47
13 Souvenirs de Bayreuth – III 0’34
14 Souvenirs de Bayreuth – IV 0’28
15 Souvenirs de Bayreuth – V 1’58
16 Fantaisie Op. 79 pour fl ûte et piano, Andantino, allegro 5’06
17 Morceau de concours pour fl ûte et piano, adagio non troppo 2’38
18 Sicilienne de Pélléas et Mélisande Op. 78 pour fl ûte et piano, allegretto molto moderato 3’36
Trio Op. 120 pour piano, violon et violoncelle
19 I – Allegro ma non troppo 6’39
20 II – Andantino 9’50
21 III – Allegro vivo 4’29
22 Après un rêve pour violoncelle et piano, andantino 2’15
23 Sicilienne Op. 78 pour violoncelle et piano, Andantino 3’26

Eric Le Sage, piano
Alexandre Tharaud, piano
Emmanuel Pahud, flute traversiere
Pierre Colombet, violon
Raphaël Merlin, violoncelle
Francois Salque, violoncelle


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: