Skip to content

Gabor Bolla – Find Your Way (2012/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Gabor Bolla – Find Your Way (2012/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 58:29 minutes | 678 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: ProStudioMasters | Booklet, Front cover | © ACT Music

On this release, Hungarian saxophonist Gábor Bolla is joined at the piano by Robert Lakatos, Bolla’s alter ego and musical soulmate. Find Your Way is an impressively expansive and yet cohesive musical journey from Bolla and his quartet, completed by Swiss jazz stylist Heiri Känzig on bass, world class drummer Jojo Mayer and guest violinist Lajos Sārközi. Displaying influences including Bartók, Monk, Rollins and Coltrane, the Modern Jazz Quartet, Stevie Wonder and Django Reinhardt, the album also showcases Bolla’s search for new sounds and for a musical identity of his own.

While several of the great jazz legends, including Louis Armstrong and Ornette Coleman, were self-taught, nowadays most jazz musicians have at least some academic education. Nevertheless, in some cultures there is still a tradition of learning and discovering new things through self-education. This is the case in the Romany culture, in which unconventional playing techniques and styles have survived. Given this background, the Hungarian saxophonist Gábor Bolla, who was born in 1988, has an extraordinary musical background. Gábor Bolla has had some impressive and defining stages in his life that are brought to bear on his ACT debut “Find Your Way”. Joining him on the piano is Robert Lakatos, his alter ego and musical soul mate. Interestingly enough, especially bebop has been an important source of inspiration; all the famous musicians who have managed to redefine themselves again and again over the years. The five exceptional musicians on the album are equally creative; they take something familiar, put it through their own filter, reconstruct it and discover whole new dimensions in it. Bartók, Monk, Rollins and Coltrane, Modern Jazz Quartet, Stevie Wonder or Django Reinhardt – it doesn’t matter where the young Hungarian’s inspiration comes from on his search for new sounds and for a musical identity of his own; with “Find Your Way” Gábor Bolla is clearly on the right track.

01 – Violin Concerto No. 2, BB 117: I. Allegro non troppo (arr. by G. Bolla)
02 – Hot Shrimps
03 – Django
04 – East Broadway Rundown
05 – Visions
06 – Passing Months
07 – Evidence
08 – Lali’s Lament
09 – Mornings of Budapest
10 – Bemsha Swing
11 – Sicktobre
12 – Roman nepi tancok (Romanian Folk Dances), BB 68: No. 4. Bucsumi tanc (Bucsumi Dance) (arr. by Bolla)
13 – Find Your Way

Produced by Siggi Loch. Engineered by Florian H. Oestreicher.
Recorded January 11 & 12, 2012 at Realistic Sound Studio Munich.
Mixed by Florian H. Oestreicher. Mastered by Klaus Scheuermann.

Gábor Bolla – tenor & soprano sax
Robert Lakatos – piano, keyboards
Lajos Sārközi – violin
Heiri Känzig – bass
Jojo Mayer – drums


%d bloggers like this: