Skip to content

Franz Schubert – Symphony no. 9, Five German Dances – Budapest Festival Orchestra, Ivan Fischer (2011) [Official Digital Download DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz + FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Franz Schubert – Symphony no. 9, Five German Dances – Budapest Festival Orchestra, Ivan Fischer (2011)
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz | Time – 01:08:01 minutes | 2,75 + 2.94 GB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: nativeDSDmusic |  © Channel Classics Records B.V.
Recorded: Palace of Arts, Budapest, June 2010

A new dimension is added to the marvellous transition from the simple horn melody to a symphony when it is played on natural horns. Why did Schubert choose horns? Three notes sound open, the next stopped, the next stopped in a different way, like a melody roughly hewn from marble. Only when the oboe takes over is the unevenness polished away, removing limitations and barriers and transporting us into a magical realm of eternity. I must say that I find this transition most touching if the natural horn players do their best to equalize, to overcome their natural unevenness – like handicapped athletes do. Small C-clarinets and narrow trombones give this symphony a special colour. The woodwinds have a leading role, playing all the Viennese songs, serenades, popular tunes and dances. Even if it is an orchestral work, here and there it feels like the seventh volume of Schubert’s Lieder. –Ivan Fischer

n C major, “The Great,” cannot be categorized as a period performance in the strictest sense, there are several points where it seems sufficiently influenced by the authenticist movement to resemble one. Chiefly in the distinctive and cleanly separated sonorities of the woodwinds and brass, and partly in matters of tempo and rhythm, this sounds quite a bit like a historically informed performance. Even though Fischer makes no claim to special research and doesn’t employ original instruments, it’s clear he and his musicians have absorbed the salient points of Classical and early Romantic performance styles, and they execute a version that most reasonable listeners can feel does justice to Schubert’s intentions and time period. The crisp and clear sounds of the winds are arresting, and the clarity of their lines and textures make the music transparent and ideally balanced with the strings. The strings don’t play with anything like the commonly accepted period tone, with its attendant sheen, but that is a minor point, considering they still play with minimal vibrato and yet present a warm, blended sound. In terms of tempo, the music is generally brisk and propulsive, and Fischer’s conducting is incisive, so the rhythms follow suit and push off the beat with considerable energy. The closing selections, the delightful Five German Dances, were not required as filler after such a satisfying masterpiece, but the music is enjoyable and provides added value for those who feel the symphony by itself is far too short for a CD. The sound of this SACD is excellent, with first-rate DSD reproduction, credible multichannel depth, and pleasant resonance. –AllMusic Review by Blair Sanderson

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Symphony no. 9 ‘Great’ in C major, D 944
1 Andante – Allegro ma non troppo 13.04
2 Andante con moto 15.30
3 Scherzo. Allegro Vivace 14.24
4 Allegro Vivace 11.40
Five German Dances and Seven Trios with Coda, D89
5 No. 1 3.10
6 No. 2 3.11
7 No. 3 2.00
8 No. 4 0.47
9 No. 5 5.27

Budapest Festival Orchestra
Iván Fischer, conductor


FLAC (Source: DSD64 (converted at KORG AudioGate 2.3.3 / DSD Filter Sharp Roll-off -3dB/42kHz / TPDF Diter)

%d bloggers like this: