Skip to content

Franz Schubert – Complete Works for Violin and Piano, Vol. 2 – Julia Fischer, Martin Helmchen (2010) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96khz]

Franz Schubert – Complete Works for Violin and Piano, Vol. 2 – Julia Fischer, Martin Helmchen (2010)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 01:07:04 minutes | 1,1 GB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: |  © PentaTone Classics
Recorded: Concertboerderij Valthermond, The Netherlands, 3-5/1/2009 & 3-5/7/2009

This album together with volume 2 completes the collaboration between Julia Fischer and Pentatone. Since all works which Schubert wrote for Violin and Piano, Volume 2 will show Julia Fischer as pianist as well (in the 4-hands piece: Fantasie in F minor D 940/op. 103).

Schubert’s complete works for violin and piano consist of three “sonatinas” Op. 137 Nos. 1-3 (D. 384, 385 and 408), Rondo Brillant D. 895, the Duo D. 574, and the amazing late Fantasia in D major D. 934. Because these do not quite fill two CDs, Volume 2 includes the Fantasia in F minor for piano duet, with Julia Fischer taking the second piano part. She’s obviously a tremendously gifted artist as the performance is an excellent one in every respect, and you’d never guess that one of the players is not a professional pianist.

That said, it’s the violin and piano works that constitute the principal attraction, and I include both discs together because I can’t imagine anyone interested in one not wanting the other as well. The three sonatinas are not, in fact, all that small, especially the latter two, which have four substantial movements apiece. Like everything Schubert wrote they are melodically generous and lovely from beginning to end. The D. 574 is more ambitious still, and by the time we get to the Fantasia we are talking about miracles. These performances are stupendous: perfectly balanced dialogs between two vibrant young personalities, ideally recorded in a warm acoustic space. There’s no need to say more: just get these discs. –David Hurwitz,

“Helmchen is adept at pinpointing the crucial harmonies… and his touch is unusually sensitive… Fischer similarly manages to combine restraint with warm expression, and the occasional moments where she plays with more abandon – as in her dramatic first entry in D385 and the ebullient Minute of D403 – stand out the more effectively.” –GRAMOPHONE

Franz Schubert (1797 – 1828)
Complete Works for Violin and Piano, Volume 2
Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major “Duo”, D. 574 (Op. posth. 162)
1 Allegro moderato 8.52
2 Scherzo (Presto) 4.08
3 Andantino 4.28
4 Allegro vivace 4.57
Fantasia for Violin and Piano in C major, D. 934 (Op. posth. 159)
5 Andante molto 3.22
6 Allegretto 5.36
7 Andantino 10.21
8 Tempo primo-Allegro-Allegretto-Presto 5.52
Fantasia in F minor for Piano Duet, D. 940 (Op. 103)
9 Allegro molto moderato 4.55
10 Largo 2.48
11 Allegro vivace 5.41
12 Tempo I 5.39

Julia Fischer, violin / piano (D. 940)
Martin Helmchen, piano


%d bloggers like this: