Skip to content

Franz Liszt – Piano Concertos – Alexandre Kantorow, Tapiola Sinfonietta, Jean-Jacques Kantorow (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Franz Liszt – Piano Concertos – Alexandre Kantorow, Tapiola Sinfonietta, Jean-Jacques Kantorow (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz  | Time – 58:02 minutes | 954 MB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: | © BIS Records AB
Recorded: November 2014 at the Tapiola Concert Hall, Finland

As a teenager, Franz Liszt created at least two virtuosic concertos for piano and orchestra, scores which now are lost. The three works gathered here first saw the light of day only a few years later, however, during the 1830’s when Liszt’s career as a young, travelling virtuoso was at its height. The two numbered concertos, which Liszt revised extensively before letting them be published some 25 years after their conception, frame the single-movement Malédiction for piano and strings which Liszt composed in 1833 and revised in 1840, but which was never published in his lifetime. Stepping into Liszt’s shoes for the present recording is Alexandre Kantorow, another very young man. Born in 1997, Alexandre is here supported by his father Jean-Jacques Kantorow conducting the Tapiola Sinfonietta, a team with a number of highly acclaimed recordings to their credit. The recording is Alexandre’s first for BIS, as well as being his début concerto disc, and represents a remarkable achievement by a hugely promising talent, as well as being a vibrant and exciting account of three impassioned scores.

Franz Liszt (1811–86)
Piano Concerto No.1 in E flat major, S.124 (1832-56)
1. I. Allegro maestoso. Tempo giusto 5’49
2. II. Quasi adagio 5’08
3. III. Allegretto vivace – Allegro animato 4’05
4. IV. Allegro marziale animato 4’01
Concerto in E minor Malediction, S.121 (1833-40)
5. Quasi moderato – Sostenuto- 7’56
6. Bar 163: energico nobilmente – Sempre moderato- 7’47
Piano Concerto No.2 in A major, S.125 (1839/1849-61)
7. Adagio sostenuto assai – Allegro agitato assai 7’22
8. Tempo del andante – Allegro moderato 6’25
9. Allegro deciso 2’52
10. Marziale, un poco meno allegro 1’07
11. Un poco meno mosso 2’58
12. Allegro animato 1’30

Alexandre Kantorow piano
Tapiola Sinfonietta
Jean-Jacques Kantorow conductor


%d bloggers like this: