Skip to content

Frank Sinatra – Songs For Young Lovers (1954/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Frank Sinatra – Songs For Young Lovers (1954/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 21:37 minutes | 517 MB | Genre: Pop, Easy Listening, Vocal Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Front cover | © Capitol Records
Recorded: November 5-6, 1953 Hollywood

Released in 1953, Songs for Young Lovers features classic songs such as “I Get a Kick Out of You”, “A Foggy Day”, and “My Funny Valentine”. All songs on the album were conducted by Nelson Riddle, and all except for “Like Someone in Love” were arranged by George Siravo. The album was one of 50 recordings chosen in 2002 by the Library of Congress to be added to the National Recording Registry.

Songs for Young Lovers was the first album Frank Sinatra recorded for Capitol, as well as his first collaboration with Nelson Riddle. It was also one of the first — arguably the very first — concept album. Sinatra, Riddle, and producer Voyle Gilmore decided that the new album format should be a special event, featuring a number of songs arranged around a specific theme; in addition, the new format was capable of producing a more detailed sound, which gave Riddle more freedom in his arrangements and orchestrations. Songs for Young Lovers is a perfect example of this. Supported by a small orchestra, Sinatra and Riddle create an intimate, romantic atmosphere on the record, breathing new life into standards like “My Funny Valentine,” “They Can’t Take That Away from Me,” “I Get a Kick Out of You,” and “A Foggy Day.” There is a breezy confidence to Sinatra’s singing, and Riddle’s arrangements are more complex than they initially appear. –Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 My Funny Valentine 02:31
2 The Girl Next Door 02:35
3 A Foggy Day 02:37
4 Like Someone In Love 03:09
5 I Get A Kick Out Of You 02:53
6 Little Girl Blue 02:51
7 They Can’t Take That Away From Me 01:56
8 Violets For Your Furs 03:05

Frank Sinatra – vocals
Nelson Riddle – conductor
George Siravo – arranger (for all songs except “Like Someone in Love”)


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: