Skip to content

Frank Sinatra – Come Swing With Me! (1961/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Frank Sinatra – Come Swing With Me! (1961/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 30:35  minutes | 1,25 GB | Genre: Pop, Easy Listening, Vocal Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Front cover | © Capitol Records
Recorded: March 20-22, 1961 Capitol Studio A, Hollywood, Los Angeles

The final album in the trilogy of Frank Sinatra collaborations with conductor and arranger Billy May, this 1961 release follows Come Fly With Me and Come Dance With Me! and served as a showcase for Capitol’s new Full Dimensional Stereo.

“Billy May did some fine stuff here with eight trumpets, four French horns, a tuba, six trombones, two bass trombones, rhythm, percussion and a harp. From the liner notes: ‘Working from this unusual instrumentation, Billy split the brass into sections which answer or echo each other and come through with backing in the same class as Frank’s singing.’” –Nancy Sinatra

Arranged by Billy May, Come Swing with Me! was Frank Sinatra’s final swing session for Capitol Records. The album falls somewhere between the carefree Come Fly with Me and the hard-swinging Come Dance with Me!, borrowing elements of the humor of Fly and the intense, driving rhythms of Dance. Recorded without strings or saxes, the brass-heavy sound of the album was noticeable, but it wasn’t nearly as distinctive as the ping-ponging stereo effects of the album. With its extreme stereo separation, Come Swing with Me! has a bizzare, off-kilter feel that is accentuated by Sinatra’s restless vocals. At the time of recording the album, Sinatra was also recording I Remember Tommy for Reprise and his affections were with his new label. That doesn’t mean he sounds careless on Come Swing with Me! — in fact, his intense, speedy energy gives the album an edge that distinguishes the record. The album might not be as special as his two previous May collaborations, but it does have enough genuine gems to make it necessary. –Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1. Day By Day 02:37
2. Sentimental Journey 03:21
3. Almost Like Being In Love 02:00
4. Five Minutes More 02:34
5. American Beauty Rose 02:20
6. Yes Indeed! 02:33
7. On The Sunny Side Of The Street 02:40
8. Don’t Take Your Love From Me 01:57
9. That Old Black Magic 04:04
10. Lover 01:52
11. Paper Doll 02:06
12. I’ve Heard That Song Before 02:31

Frank Sinatra – vocals
Billy May – arranger, conductor
Billy May And His Orchestra


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: