Skip to content

Foy Vance – From Muscle Shoals (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Foy Vance – From Muscle Shoals (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 37:16 minutes | 399 MB | Genre: Pop, Rock, Soul, Singer-Songwriter
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Gingerbread Man Records

The son of a traveling church minister, Northern Irish singer/songwriter Foy Vance spent the first five years of his life in the deep south, and he explores those roots on From Muscle Shoals. The first installment of a two-part dive into roots music, which also includes the Americana-leaning To Memphis, the ten-track set was recorded at the iconic FAME Studios in Alabama and features a seasoned crew of session players including original “Swampers” Spooner Oldham (keys) and David Hood (bass). Comprised of ten cuts, two of which (“Be with Me” and “Make It Rain”) are punched-up versions of earlier works, Vance’s 24-grit vocals and bluesy swagger go a long way in selling the material, as does the stellar musicianship of all involved, but in attempting to emulate a classic soul album, From Muscle Shoals — a very on-the-nose name — feels more like a facsimile. A workmanlike pastiche of well-oiled grooves, melodies, and lyrics that sound like they were run through a Stax Records song generator, Vance and company do their best to inject the proceedings with some zeal, but the shadows of Wilson Pickett, Otis Redding, and Percy Sledge loom too large. Like Van Morrison, soul and R&B have always been at the forefront of Vance’s particular brand of Irish-American folk, but From Muscle Shoals leans too hard in one direction and ultimately fails to distinguish itself from its source material. ~ James Christopher Monger

01. You Get To Me 04:00
02. You Love Are My Only 03:28
03. Moving On 03:24
04. Sunshine or Rain 04:04
05. Pain Never Hurt Me Like Love 03:15
06. Be With Me 03:24
07. Good Time Southern Soul 02:21
08. Hard Work 03:56
09. I’m Coming Over 04:34
10. Make It Rain 04:51


%d bloggers like this: