Skip to content

Fourplay – Esprit De Four (2012) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Fourplay – Esprit De Four (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 54:43 minutes | 644 MB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | © Heads Up International

Legendary quartets have been a staple in classical, pop and jazz traditions. Among these greats is Fourplay, an extraordinary lineup of musicians who have influenced the contemporary jazz world. Esprit De Four, the band’s latest work, features the ensembles most challenging repertoire to date. All four members contribute to the album, which includes the melodic gem “December Dream,” the intriguing “Firefly” and the breathtaking “Put Our Hearts Together,” a musical tribute to the victims of the tsunami that struck Japan in March 2011. Experience the spirit and magic of Esprit De Four as a pristine hi-res download.

Recorded over the summer at the Hollywood & Highland KKJZ Summer Concert Series, Live in Hollywood features Sanchez and his Latin Jazz Band at their best. The album opens as the live show did with the swinging tune Promenade. Sanchez follows the tune up with the first-ever Poncho Sanchez Medley. He says it s a concept that he and his music director Francisco Torres have discussed for years.
In addition, Sanchez pays tribute to two of his biggest influences keyboardist, composer and arranger Clare Fischer and Latin Jazz percussionist Mongo Santamaria. Fischer helped Sanchez get his first record deal with Discovery, the label for which he recorded before joining Concord in 1982.
Sanchez also delivers a high-energy rendition of Afro Blue that serves as a tribute to the late Santamaria, whom he considers a good friend and important influence. When Sanchez performed at the Hollywood & Highland concert, he introduced the song by talking about what an inspiration Santamaria was to him. While Sanchez s brief commentary didn t make it onto the album, the song still stands a worthy tribute.
For Sanchez, who turned 60 this year and will receive A Lifetime Achievement Award from the Latin Recording Academy at a November 14, 2012 ceremony in Las Vegas. Being able to make a living playing music is a dream come true. As a teen, Sanchez first learned to play guitar from the guy across the street because he couldn t afford to buy an instrument and his friend would let him borrow his guitar. He then gravitated to percussion after his siblings introduced him to the music that was then called cha-cha music.
I ve been involved with this from the beginning but just as a listener when I was a young boy, he says. I never dreamed it would happen that I would become a professional musician. You go with the flow and you go with your heart and what feels right, and now I know it feels right because this is how I made a living for my whole life. I m not braggin but I did pretty well for a guy from the neighborhood.

01 – December Dream
02 – Firefly
03 – Venus
04 – Sonnymoon
05 – Put Our Hearts Together (Instrumental Version)
06 – All I Wanna Do
07 – Logic Of Love
08 – Esprit De Four
09 – Sugoi
10 – Put Our Hearts Together (Vocal Version)


%d bloggers like this: