Skip to content

Four Tet – Sixteen Oceans (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Four Tet – Sixteen Oceans (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 54:37 minutes | 553 MB | Genre: Electronic, Ambient
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Text Records

This is the tenth studio album by the stalwart of the British electronic scene; Sixteen Oceans offers an hour-long journey through Four Tet’s inspired mind. The album which could too hastily be labelled ‘ambient’ starts off upbeat with School and Baby, a perfect warm-up with a 2-step beat and a “Take Me On” chopped vocal (a catchy Ellie Goulding sample). Granted, Harpsichord (featuring notes played on the instrument of the same name), Green and 4T Recordings (which resound like the soundtrack to a forest on Pandora) are pretty ambient, but they also prove that Four Tet is no one trick pony.

The producer dives into downtempo/electronica with tracks such as the single Teenage Birdsong and its jumble of blades and keyboards, spoils us with the Burial-esque underground beat of Love Salad and gets trippy with aquatic samples (Bubbles At Overlook 25th March 2019). Some standouts from this album full of surprises include Something in the Sadness, a nod to Mathew Jonson, and Insect Near Piha Beach, started off by a heavy techno kick and gradually soothed by a swarm of strings and heavenly voices that result in an astonishingly masterful sonic chiaroscuro. ©️ Smaël Bouaici

1. School (04:02)
2. Baby (04:24)
3. Harpsichord (02:53)
4. Teenage Birdsong (03:25)
5. Romantics (04:57)
6. Love Salad (07:20)
7. Insect Near Piha Beach (05:15)
8. Hi Hello (00:48)
9. ISTM (00:40)
10. Something in the Sadness (05:11)
11. 1993 Band Practice (01:05)
12. Green (03:48)
13. Bubbles at Overlook 25th March 2019 (01:03)
14. 4T Recordings (03:17)
15. This Is for You (02:05)
16. Mama Teaches Sanskrit (04:24)


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: