Skip to content

Food – Quiet Inlet (2010) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Food – Quiet Inlet (2010)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 46:59 minutes | 800 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Artwork: Digital booklet | © ECM

The group Food has defined a new kind of lyrical electroacoustic improvisation since its founding as a quartet in 1998. Now a core duo of UK saxophonist Iain Ballamy and Norwegian drummer Thomas Strønen, they are joined by guests as needed for various projects. Following live dates in Norway in 2007 and 2008 with trumpeter Nils Petter Molvær and Austrian improvising guitarist Christian Fennesz, the four musicians headed into the studio to record the highly praised Quiet Inlet, resplendent with melodic improvisation, trancelike pulses and shifting clouds of sound.

“Quiet Inlet” is the perfect title for this project by the duo Food, co-led by drummer Thomas Stronen and saxophonist Iain Ballamy. An exercise in texture music via electronica, Stronen and Ballamy take their time constructing lush, late-night vistas of layered sounds, with depth more important than pace. Hardly any variation in tempo can be heard, as sparse percussion accents prompt Ballamy’s expansive tenor or soprano saxophone sounds. Only on the funky “Mictyris” in 7/8 time does the ensemble veer away from cloudy soundscapes. Special guest trumpeter Nils Petter Molvaer – a true pioneer of modern electronic film noir-type music – is heard invading the space during “Dweller,” while guitarist Christian Fennesz takes a subsidiary role on select tracks, rather than a frontman’s stance. As dreamy music goes, this album is not only a departure from the ECM catalog, but could be a portent toward the future of a new style of contemporary music.

01 – Tobiko
02 – Chimaera
03 – Mictyris
04 – Becalmed
05 – Cirrina
06 – Dweller
07 – Fathom

Produced by Manfred Eicher and Food.
Recorded by Simen Scharning (“2,4-6”) and Thomas Hukkelberg (“1,3,7”).
Mixed at Rainbow Studios, Oslo by Jan Erik Kongshaug, Manfred Eicher and Food.


Food – This Is Not A Miracle (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

%d bloggers like this: