Skip to content

Fiona Mackenzie – Elevate (2008) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Fiona Mackenzie – Elevate (2008)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 36:59 minutes | 479 MB | Genre: Folk
Official Digital Download – Source: Linn | Covers & Digital booklet

The captivating debut solo album by Scottish singer/songwriter Fiona MacKenzie. These are songs with a distinct, northern European character. Her writing and singing technique are affected by a spectrum of influences spanning Hungarian folk music, Nick Cave, Kate Bush, Cocteau Twins and Bjork, as well as the Scottish and Gaelic traditions.

Born and raised on the Isle of Lewis, off the west coast of Scotland, she has been writing and performing songs in English and Gaelic since her early teens. Co-produced by The Blue Nile producer Calum Malcolm, traditional acoustic instruments and electronic elements blend to create a forward-thinking music that remains rooted in heritage. Mackenzie’s emotive self-penned lyrics paint a picture and the sound at times is hauntingly Celtic. File alongside such artists as Solveig Slettajhell and Julie Fowlis. “Elevate” will be launched at Celtic Connections 2008 in Glasgow.

01 – When the sunny sky has gone
02 – In Between
03 – Bye Bye
04 – A Little While Longer
05 – An Roghainn
06 – At the Bottom of the Sea
07 – Elevate
08 – Lots of People
09 – Duisg Mo Chridhe
10 – Hi o Hè
11 – Everybody Knows

All songs recorded by Calum Malcolm at Carlekemp.

Fiona Mackenzie – vocals, acoustic guitar
Calum Malcolm – piano, electric piano, Hammond organ, accordian, bass, programming
Brian O hEadhra – vibrato guitar, bouzouki, bodhran
Stuart McCredie – electric guitars
Quee McArthur – bass
Dave Stewart – drums
Mairi Campbell – strings
Matt Backer – vibrato and wire guitars
Julien Arguelles – saxophone


%d bloggers like this: