Skip to content

Fiona Apple – Fetch The Bolt Cutters (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Fiona Apple – Fetch The Bolt Cutters (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 51:49 minutes | 610 MB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Epic

Time, mercifully, has not softened Fiona Apple’s edges. Her long-awaited fifth album is exciting, nervy and seemingly on the verge of collapse. Apple lets it bleed without running over the edge. On “I Want You to Love Me,” her voice is Mama Cass strong; she holds notes to the point that they become something else. “Shameika” and “Cosmonauts” are sonic tornadoes, while the title track is madness with its rushed vocals, chanted chorus (“Fetch the bolt cutters/I’ve been in here too long”), percussive manic typing, and a barking dog.

Apple’s humor remains wickedly sharp. “Under The Table” is laugh out loud funny, about a dreaded dinner party: “Kick me under the table all you want, I won’t shut up.” Over a bed of baroque or even circus sideshow piano, she tries on Lizzo-worthy sass for “Rack of His” (“Check out that rack of his! / Look at that row of guitar necks”). Occasionally, it’s all breathtaking: “For Her” snaps from playground chants fueled by #MeToo fury to a soaring swell of “Good morning! You raped me in the same bed your daughter was born in.” As powerful as anything she’s ever made. – Shelly Ridenour


01 – I Want You To Love Me
02 – Shameika
03 – Fetch The Bolt Cutters
04 – Under The Table
05 – Relay
06 – Rack of His
07 – Newspaper
08 – Ladies
09 – Heavy Balloon
10 – Cosmonauts
11 – For Her
12 – Drumset
13 – On I Go


%d bloggers like this: