Skip to content

Faith Hill – Cry (2002/2012) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Faith Hill – Cry (2002/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:00:28 minutes | 1,17 GB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Warner Bros. – Nashville

Lavishly produced and packaged, Cry marks the continued ascent of Faith Hill from the lowlands of down-home authenticity to the heights of pop superstardom. Though plenty of Nashville A-team players back her up, the sound they churn out has almost nothing to do with country music. Riding a tide of massed synthesizer textures, sweeping orchestral strings, thundering drums, rock guitar licks, and melodramatic dynamics, Hill strives for the biggest possible gestures in her performance. The result is the kind of glitzy fireworks normally associated with Star Search or American Idol, in which the lyric takes a distant backseat to raw exhibitionism and only the most cursory nod is made toward country lyrical convention. (The nod is particularly schizoid in “This Is Me,” as Hill proclaims, “I try to love Jesus and myself…yeah, yeah.”) Beyond the general issue of taste, this approach raises twofold problems for Hill in particular, in that her established skills as a song interpreter are lost in all this sturm und drang and her voice, while undeniably powerful at its peak, doesn’t have the range that allows most singers in this style, from proto-diva Barbra Streisand to flameout icon Mariah Carey, to at least milk the material at some superficial level. With all this in mind, it may be significant that Tim McGraw, a guest on previous Hill albums, makes no appearance here. Perhaps there’s no room for country credibility, or even for a spouse, when one’s career trajectory is as hot as Hill’s.

01. Free
02. Cry
03. One
04. When The Lights Go Down
05. Beautiful
06. Unsaveable
07. Baby You Belong
08. If You’re Gonna Fly Away
09. Stronger
10. If This Is The End
11. This Is Me
12. Back To You
13. I Think I Will
14. You’re Still Here

Faith Hill – vocals
Damon Johnson – acoustic, electric & slide guitars
Marti Frederiksen – acoustic & electric guitars, vocals
Tim Pierce – acoustic & electric guitars
Dean Parks – acoustic guitar
Michael Landau – electric guitar, background vocals
Paul Bushnell – bass
Leland Sklar – bass
Vinnie Colaiuta – drums
Suzie Katayama – violin
Jim Cox – piano & Hammond B-3 organ
Jamie Muhoberac – keyboards
Bekka Bramlet – tambourine, background vocals
Eric Carter – programming
Frank Macek – programming
Erik Lutkins – loops
Doug Moffet – Lisa Gregg, Lisa Cochran, Crystal Taliefero, Chris Rodriguez, background vocals


%d bloggers like this: