Skip to content

Everything Everything – A Fever Dream (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Everything Everything – A Fever Dream (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 46:30 minutes | 533 MB | Genre:Alternative, Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © RCA Records Label

The fourth full-length release for the British indie rock band was produced by James Ford.

U.K. art-pop quartet Everything Everything rightfully gained plenty of attention in 2015 for their bombastic third album Get to Heaven. It easily highlighted everything great about the band: propulsive dance grooves, quirky and creative instrumentation and chord progression, cleverly cutting lyrics, and frontman Jonathan Higgs’ powerful, unique vocals. Most importantly, it solidified an evolution from the group’s nervy math-punk beginnings, a growth that is readily apparent on the new album, A Fever Dream. Rather than change their sound further, on their fourth album, Everything Everything refine and enhance the qualities that already make them the most interesting band in the U.K. rock scene.

Blasting out of the gate with the furious “Night of the Long Knives,” Higgs and company waste no time laying out the anxiety and horror of modern living and setting it all ablaze. In fact, on song after song, Everything Everything are more adept than most at translating the uniquely enveloping quality of current political dread to song. Rampant nationalism, always-on news cycles, and a prevalence of “us v. them” thinking are just some of the topics skewered with poetic clarity on A Fever Dream. A number of songs are even presented from the point of view of the villain, like the dynamic, beautiful title track: “I hate the neighbors/They hate me too/The fear and the fury/Make me feel good.”

A Fever Dream contains not just the most focused, polished songwriting of the band’s career, but also some tender, sincere balladry, a new look for them. Almost half of the tracks here are slower and more thoughtful than the majority of the group’s output, and it’s to their credit that not one of them is uninteresting or forced. In particular, the central tracks “Put Me Together” and “A Fever Dream” are affecting and emotional. This is the best front-to-back album that Everything Everything has yet crafted, a cathartic, exciting art-pop record that resonates in the brain, heart, and tapping toes.

01. Night of the Long Knives
02. Can’t Do
03. Desire
04. Big Game
05. Good Shot, Good Soldier
06. Run the Numbers
07. Put Me Together
08. A Fever Dream
09. Ivory Tower
10. New Deep
11. White Whale


%d bloggers like this: